Will the future rumoured Intel Atom 330 based Mac Mini be capable of 1080p playback?
Question 
Hello,

This is my first post on the forum although I've been using XBMC on an Xbox for a couple of years now.

I'd like to upgrade my aging Xbox to something which is HD capable, especially now more and more rips are appearing in HD - the hardware I'd like to use is either an AppleTV or a Mac Mini, obviously the AppleTV's aren't fast enough for true HD, so the Mac Mini is the next best option.

Does anyone know whether the (rumoured) upcoming atom based Mac Minis would be fast enough?

Does XBMC make use of multi-threaded decoding or would the dual core nature of these new machines not be any good?

http://www.macrumors.com/2009/01/15/inte...-in-march/

Cheers,
John
You will probably scrap through to 720p with an Atom based machine... 1080 is a no no.
I don't believe in that rumor....

....probably Apple is looking to use NVIDIA's Ion platform not in the new macmini but in a new ATV3.
^tWiSt^ Wrote:probably Apple is looking to use NVIDIA's Ion platform not in the new macmini but in a new ATV3.

Sounds kind of likely. I really hope that's the case.

Mac Mini has almost always had the same basic parts that the MacBook has. And as the current Mac Mini is targeted at switchers I don't think that Apple would want a newcomers first impression of Mac to be a slow Atom based computer.

But the current Mini hasn't been updated in forever, so a slow Mini is what a switcher would get right now.

Apple works in mysterious ways, so one never knows Smile
^tWiSt^ Wrote:I don't believe in that rumor....

....probably Apple is looking to use NVIDIA's Ion platform not in the new macmini but in a new ATV3.