How and where do I get started with XBMC development?
Question 
Guys,

I'm a developer by trade and am interested in getting my head around the XBMC codebase.

I've done a svn checkout and I've got Xcode installed - basically I'm following the instructions here http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_compi...ource_code

What I was wondering is whether there are some examples or guides on how to get started? i.e. answering simple questions on how the code and skin interact, or examples of how some of the dialogs work both at a skin and code level?

ATM I've just got a lot of code but not sure where to begin. I'm going through the development wiki, but would be great if there was a step-by-step guide for one specific screen or something that gives an end-to-end explanation of what goes on.

Thanks,

Justin
Some of the code is documented with doxygen comments (http://doxygen.org)

All other documentation is in the wiki (then official XBMC Online Manual):
http://www.xbmc.org/wiki/?title=Development_Notes

Best might be to tell what you want to achieve then ask what code to look at.

...break it down and describe exactly what end result you want to see in XBMC.

Happy coding! Big Grin
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
ok Smile

I posted in the feature request forum about editing more info than just the movie title from the context menu and wondered about doing it myself.

I thought it might be a good place to start as I could see how the edit title works then just add fields to edit more things. Might be a simplistic view, who knows?

So any tips on how to start looking at that would be great!

Justin