help a Ubuntu newb get this set up....
I'm pretty new to Ubuntu (just basic skills/knowledge at this point) and I'm trying to get XBMC set up on a simple Ubuntu build.

I set up two PPA links in the Software Sources menu. Though I'm not sure what version I should be using (Jaunty? Hardy? Etc...)
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/hardy-ppa/ubuntu hardy main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/hardy-ppa/ubuntu hardy main

I've added the PGP key (that was an initial error I was getting) and that issue seems to have gone away as I don't get that error popping up anymore.

However, XBMC is not dloading and not installing.

Suggestions? help?
Appreciated.
Best bet would be to follow my HOWTO which is a sticky at the top of this page. Even though it's for ION machines, you can use it without the NVIDIA drivers if it suits you.
Start with providing a detailed error message and details about your system (version, etc...). Though it seems you're better of in the ubuntu forums to gain some basic ubuntu/linux knowledge. Up to now there's no xbmc involved in your trouble.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
Haggy Wrote:Start with providing a detailed error message and details about your system (version, etc...). Though it seems you're better of in the ubuntu forums to gain some basic ubuntu/linux knowledge. Up to now there's no xbmc involved in your trouble.

Thats the thing... no errors. No msgs. No nothing. Just checks for updates and no updates found. Nothing installed yet either. (hell I got Pidgin working fine)
Well try with the howto Pete mentioned. That should cover basic installation until you get it running.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.