[LIVE] I am so completely lost.
I burned the live ISO to a disk and put it in the computer. I followed the instructions for installation, and told it to just wipe the drive and use the whole thing (previously there had only been a copy of Ubuntu 9.10 on there that I wasn't using). It asked me to create a user name and password, which I did. Then it shut down.

When it powered up again, I took out the disk so it wouldn't try to boot from that. I saw the XBMC logo, so everything seemed to be going according to plan. Then it went to the black screen where I put in my username and password. Then it just seemed to go to the Ubuntu command line.

I'm so confused. What does XBMC have to do with Ubuntu? Is it just a program that runs on Ubuntu? I thought it was basically a stand-alone OS that was Linux-based. I thought there was a GUI involved. Does it not come with one? Did I screw up somehow? Have I made some total newbie mistakes?

I feel like one of those apes at the beginning of 2001: A Space Oddysey, just tossing some rocks at the Monolith and scratching my head.
XBMC live is a program that runs on top of a minimal Ubuntu linux installation.

Yes, it should automatically start off with a GUI.

You should give your system specs here so people have better chance helping you out.

Probaby something in the xorg.conf needs tweaking for your video card?
Normally it works perfectly but I had this problem with an old PC with an AGP ATI card.
I did not find a solution instead I had to manually install it and that was not without problem either. The previous version 9.04 worked fine and I hoping for a version 10.04 soon!

If you have newer nvidia based computer it should work fine!
Quote:Probaby something in the xorg.conf needs tweaking for your video card?
Yes, my only suggestion is to manually install the correct graphical drivers and see if that helps.

If you manually log in with the user/password and type runXBMC you will see if it works.