Exit XBMC to Ubuntu desktop
Hi,

Okay - I am a Ubuntu noob but I have got everything working perfectly on the Ubuntu 10 LTS install. I followed this how to:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...Step_Guide

And it autoboots to XBMC, but I need to exit this and get to the Ubuntu desktop for some final tweaks. Can anyone help me out and tell me how to do this? I "Exit XBMC" and all I have is a black screen with a black and white "X" cursor.

Many thanks.

Barney
Hi Barney,
By "desktop", do you mean terminal window? Either you can do ssh remote login for that or press Ctrl+Alt+F1 (F1 to F6, depending of your configuration) to go to terminal mode and Alt+F7 to go back to your XBMC screen. Does it help? cheers!!!
MINIX NEO U22-XJ | Denon AVC-X3800H | KEF Q750 | KEF Q250c | KEF Q150 | KEF Q50a | KEF Kube 10 MIE | LG OLED65G16LA | CoreELEC
I'm using XBMC Live version with comes with a minimal 9.10 Ubtunu.

For this I once exited XBMC and logged in to my command line.
Here I installed a minimal Desktop GUI version (which you may already have if you're using a Ubuntu Desktop version?).

sudo apt-get install gnome-core

After this I just start my GUI with

startx
Quote:sudo apt-get install gnome-core
In 9.11 this will break usb automount. Use the pre-installed fluxbox.
Sorry, I should be more specific. I am using Ubuntu Desktop version, not XBMC Live or XBMCUbuntu.

When I say Desktop I guess I mean Gnome. Problem is, I dont even get a command line when I log out of XBMC now.

I may just do a fresh install, but use XBMC as an autorun, rather than a default session as it seems very hard to back out of this choice.
You need to be even more specific. You are running in the xbmc session?
You cant exit from xbmc-session to desktop since no desktop is running. You need to run it in the gnome session. You can easily get xbmc to autostart in gnome but starting / killing with remote requires more work and is not included in the xbmc package.
from the guide he mentioned above: