n00b question: Auto Update Library
I am running XBMC on a Win7 box. I have a couple drive shares, which I copy new TV Shows/Movies into from my primary computer.

I'd love to have a way, either script or a keystroke, which I could force a library update on the video/audio library.

I've never used scripts here before, so I'm new to that. I did read through the wikis and such, but I'm not exactly sure where to find and search for a script. The link in the wiki goes to an empty page.
Please search for UpdateLibrary + httapi. There're quite some threads about it.
Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
Hello,
You could use Eventghost and map library update to a key that you do not use. Or you could setup Eventghost to do a directory watch for new files on whatever directory you are adding files to, then EG can also issue the command to update library without any interaction from you. This is what I do as part of my automated NZB downloads.

You can take a look at this thread to get some ideas:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...=Belvedere

If you need any help, let us know.

Mark
Excellent, thank you. I am completely new to the xbmc/linux front.
Right now, I'm running XBMC on Win7.

Can I set up an SSH/Telnet session into XBMC, or do I have to be running an XBMC/Linux install to do that?

I was thinking of using my media script from my other computer to send a ssh command to kick off a library update. (once I figured out how)
The forum has a search you only have to use the keywords given above to find stuff Shocked

If you want to update the library from your remote you can map a key with the command UpdateLibrary(video) or UpdateLibrary(music)