MySQL Database: Multiple XBMC HTPC's with 1 Shared Library

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Mandar666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #346
Not sure I follow? As far I know, yes. What should I check?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 12,643
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 239
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #347
So which machine has the files stored on it?

How are you sharing the files? I guess smb?

When you added sources on the original machine did you add them via smb shares or as local files?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Mandar666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #348
Ah, got it.
- All files are stored locally on the same HTPC running my MySQL. When I set up MySQL I already had an extensive library going, so I just imported my library after installing MySQL.
- Checking the DB, I see the paths are all saved as local paths (e.g. E:\Movies\Boxsets\Indiana Jones - Trilogy\01 - Indiana Jones - Raiders of the lost Ark.avi)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 12,643
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 239
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #349
Thats the problem then. The clients can't follow that path.

I think the solution is to end up with all computers accessing via smb, even the local computer (it should be able to access it's own shares even though that seems counter-intuitive).

I think that will mean deleting all your sources and deleting the database, then adding them as smb shares. Then rescrape. If you export your database to indivdual files first it will ease the process at the expense of cluttering up your media directories with .nfo files.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
GregiBoy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post: #350
You could also export the database to a single file and do a global search/replace of the local path(s) to the SMB paths.

I've done this with notepad+ a few times for friends.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 12,643
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 239
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #351
Or indeed you could do that kind of change directly on the mysql database if you knew a bit of SQL.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Mandar666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #352
Awesome thanks.

- Plan A would be to backup DB, then write script and update DB
- Plan B would be to restore DB, notepad++ it
- Plan C is to wipe and start from scratch
find quote
Walt74 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: the Netherlands
Post: #353
I don't want to post in two sections, but i found some speed differences with mysql between Gotham and Kodi. I thought it was OSX related, but i am doubting that now.

Please check it out here : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid1870606

XBMC 14.2 beta / Aeon Nox 5 / Mac Mini 2011 - 256 GB EVO SSD - 8 GB RAM - OSX 10.10 / Maranz 1402 / Synology DS1513 / Harmony One / Philips 40"LED TV
(This post was last modified: 2014-12-26 16:42 by Walt74.)
find quote
D-an-W Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #354
Has anyone got this setup using OS X Yosemite (10.10.1) as the server for MySQL?

I installed mysql-5.6.22-osx10.9-x86_64.dmg and tried to follow the guide but when trying to copy the file using "sudo cp my-huge.cnf /etc/my.cnf" it failed as there is no such file to copy.

It seems Yosemite has a problem launching MySQL on startup, can anyone confirm a fix for this?
find quote
tin2001 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #355
Can anyone explain why when there's a DB change, I get a new DB with the new DB version number, but no data gets written to it (and the new version then crashes every time it gets started after that)?

I thought it might be the RaspBMC build of Kodi not working right, but the official Windows version does exactly the same thing. Drop the empty table, run the new version, and it creates a blank DB with the new name. No tables are created, and certainly no data is copied.

I have checked the permissions as best I can - the user I'm using now has full global privileges, and it still just creates a blank DB.

What can I do to further debug this rather painful problem?
find quote
guido66 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #356
Check out this thread: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=212218

Looks very much like that problem
find quote
pagali Offline
Donor
Posts: 105
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #357
I'm preparing to set up MySQL for 3 Kodi 14.0 installations in my home. I've seen warnings earlier to not use a MySQL version later than 5.5, but I don't know how old those warnings are, or if they still apply to Kodi. Is that still the recommended version, or is it safe to go with the newest, 5.6.x?
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 422
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #358
(2015-01-06 19:16)pagali Wrote:  I'm preparing to set up MySQL for 3 Kodi 14.0 installations in my home. I've seen warnings earlier to not use a MySQL version later than 5.5, but I don't know how old those warnings are, or if they still apply to Kodi. Is that still the recommended version, or is it safe to go with the newest, 5.6.x?

I'm still running MYSQL version 5.5 on my ubuntu server.

I believe the same issues persists though I've not installed 5.6 in a while to check up on it since I had issues way back when.

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.5 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, SickRage, Headphones, Apache | NAS = HP StorageWorks P4500 G2 SAN - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - 21TB RAID5 + Hot spare

find quote
zerocool_ie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #359
I'm using MySQL 5.6.20 on Windows and have had no problems

Living Room Isengard | Transparency! | Inspiron 1525 | Win 8.1 x64 | SAMSUNG 55" 3D LED HDTV
Bedroom Isengard | Transparency! | Studio 17 | Win 8.1 x64 | PHILLIPS 42" LCD HDTV
Server Isengard | Confluence | ASRock 330HT | Win 8.1 x64 | MySQL 5.6.24 | Ember Media Manager 1.4 BETA | Headless
NAS Synology DS411 16TB | MariaDB 5.5.43
find quote
pagali Offline
Donor
Posts: 105
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #360
^Thanks for the replies, folks. I went ahead and installed 5.5 on my Windows 7 Pro file server, set up my Kodi installations, and all seems to be working great!
find quote
Post Reply