[UNSUPPORTED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Vote(s) - 4.75 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,423
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6511
(2015-03-17 05:09)djm1319 Wrote:  Hey I was wondering if it was me or Advanced Launcher itself. I keep having issues with the add-on deleting my games library. It's been going on since a week ago. I'm pretty excited to get this all set up. So, I hope I can get a response soon.

Thanks
That's a well known Kodi problem that randomly erase add-on listitems present into memory... and corrupt saves. Use the backup option into Advanced Launcher settings to restore you launchers.xml file.
find quote
Cliched86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6512
Hi all,

I have just started using this launcher and it is brilliant. I know it is now unsupported, however, could I get the argument for running nulldc cdi's? They run normally out of kodi, I have also got project64, epsxe, kega fusion etc all working though can't find the argument for nulldc?

Thanks for the help,

Regards cliched
find quote
subwoofer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6513
The thing with this that throws me off on how it all works is that you only need to use /usr/xbin/su or /usr/bin/am application to run the emulator with the correct argument. How does that even work? What emulator is it using? I would think that I need to point the application to the correct emulator like I did on the PC but I'm not sure where the emulator is location on the Android filesystem and I know pointing it to an .apk won't work. From Kodi, I can easily access the emulator that I installed on the FireTV from an .apk file but I'm not sure how to related that to Advanced Launcher.
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,423
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6514
(2015-03-27 17:32)subwoofer Wrote:  The thing with this that throws me off on how it all works is that you only need to use /usr/xbin/su or /usr/bin/am application to run the emulator with the correct argument. How does that even work? What emulator is it using? I would think that I need to point the application to the correct emulator like I did on the PC but I'm not sure where the emulator is location on the Android filesystem and I know pointing it to an .apk won't work. From Kodi, I can easily access the emulator that I installed on the FireTV from an .apk file but I'm not sure how to related that to Advanced Launcher.
Advanced Launcher allows you to start application using command lines on most of the existing system. Now, if you do not know how and what application to lunch... it is effectively nothing related to Advanced launcher. Concerning your problem : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=183527
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,423
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6515
(2015-03-25 17:38)Cliched86 Wrote:  Hi all,

I have just started using this launcher and it is brilliant. I know it is now unsupported, however, could I get the argument for running nulldc cdi's? They run normally out of kodi, I have also got project64, epsxe, kega fusion etc all working though can't find the argument for nulldc?

Thanks for the help,

Regards cliched
Same remark as subwoofer. Concerning your problem : http://ngemu.com/threads/launch-nulldc-f...ns.137770/
find quote
subwoofer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6516
(2015-03-27 17:49)Angelscry Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:32)subwoofer Wrote:  The thing with this that throws me off on how it all works is that you only need to use /usr/xbin/su or /usr/bin/am application to run the emulator with the correct argument. How does that even work? What emulator is it using? I would think that I need to point the application to the correct emulator like I did on the PC but I'm not sure where the emulator is location on the Android filesystem and I know pointing it to an .apk won't work. From Kodi, I can easily access the emulator that I installed on the FireTV from an .apk file but I'm not sure how to related that to Advanced Launcher.
Advanced Launcher allows you to start application using command lines on most of the existing system. Now, if you do not know how and what application to lunch... it is effectively nothing related to Advanced launcher. Concerning your problem : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=183527

The tuturial states to use either su or am as the application. My questions is: how does it know which application to launch? For instance, if I want to run the MD.emu application that I have installed from an .apk, how does it know where that is located? Is it simply from the argument line having "com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity" in it? Doesn't seem plausible.

Basically I can get everything imported but when I click on a ROM file, it does nothing. I can easily get this working on my PC because I know where the .exe file is located. On the FireTV, I don't know where the .apk installs the emulators.
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,423
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6517
(2015-03-27 17:56)subwoofer Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:49)Angelscry Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:32)subwoofer Wrote:  The thing with this that throws me off on how it all works is that you only need to use /usr/xbin/su or /usr/bin/am application to run the emulator with the correct argument. How does that even work? What emulator is it using? I would think that I need to point the application to the correct emulator like I did on the PC but I'm not sure where the emulator is location on the Android filesystem and I know pointing it to an .apk won't work. From Kodi, I can easily access the emulator that I installed on the FireTV from an .apk file but I'm not sure how to related that to Advanced Launcher.
Advanced Launcher allows you to start application using command lines on most of the existing system. Now, if you do not know how and what application to lunch... it is effectively nothing related to Advanced launcher. Concerning your problem : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=183527

The tuturial states to use either su or am as the application. My questions is: how does it know which application to launch? For instance, if I want to run the MD.emu application that I have installed from an .apk, how does it know where that is located? Is it simply from the argument line having "com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity" in it? Doesn't seem plausible.

Basically I can get everything imported but when I click on a ROM file, it does nothing. I can easily get this working on my PC because I know where the .exe file is located. On the FireTV, I don't know where the .apk installs the emulators.
I understand your problem... but would not be better to ask your question on a FireTV dedicated forum? FireTV users may surely better know than Kodi users where application files are located on their system.
find quote
subwoofer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6518
(2015-03-27 18:22)Angelscry Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:56)subwoofer Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:49)Angelscry Wrote:  Advanced Launcher allows you to start application using command lines on most of the existing system. Now, if you do not know how and what application to lunch... it is effectively nothing related to Advanced launcher. Concerning your problem : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=183527

The tuturial states to use either su or am as the application. My questions is: how does it know which application to launch? For instance, if I want to run the MD.emu application that I have installed from an .apk, how does it know where that is located? Is it simply from the argument line having "com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity" in it? Doesn't seem plausible.

Basically I can get everything imported but when I click on a ROM file, it does nothing. I can easily get this working on my PC because I know where the .exe file is located. On the FireTV, I don't know where the .apk installs the emulators.
I understand your problem... but would not be better to ask your question on a FireTV dedicated forum? FireTV users may surely better know than Kodi users where application files are located on their system.

I'll try asking there but I get more responses here and this place seems more helpful.

So am I pointing the application to the correct place by using /usr/xbin/su or do I need the location of the emulator added after that? Or do I just put the location of the emulator in that section? I would guess the latter here since that is what I did on my PC.

Where are your emulator files located (if that is what you are using to launch these) on your Linux or Android system? If I can get an idea of where your files are located then I can find mine. Right now I'm using a guiADB tool to transfer files over and it doesn't have a great search feature.
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,423
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6519
(2015-03-27 18:31)subwoofer Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 18:22)Angelscry Wrote:  
(2015-03-27 17:56)subwoofer Wrote:  The tuturial states to use either su or am as the application. My questions is: how does it know which application to launch? For instance, if I want to run the MD.emu application that I have installed from an .apk, how does it know where that is located? Is it simply from the argument line having "com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity" in it? Doesn't seem plausible.

Basically I can get everything imported but when I click on a ROM file, it does nothing. I can easily get this working on my PC because I know where the .exe file is located. On the FireTV, I don't know where the .apk installs the emulators.
I understand your problem... but would not be better to ask your question on a FireTV dedicated forum? FireTV users may surely better know than Kodi users where application files are located on their system.

I'll try asking there but I get more responses here and this place seems more helpful.

So am I pointing the application to the correct place by using /usr/xbin/su or do I need the location of the emulator added after that? Or do I just put the location of the emulator in that section? I would guess the latter here since that is what I did on my PC.

Where are your emulator files located (if that is what you are using to launch these) on your Linux or Android system? If I can get an idea of where your files are located then I can find mine. Right now I'm using a guiADB tool to transfer files over and it doesn't have a great search feature.
I do not use Advanced Launcher on android based system. But as I understand the content of the link I send you, use /usr/xbin/su or /usr/bin/am as application (I do not know which one is actually working on your systeme) and indicated the location of the emulator application binary into the argument field.

So the command line must be somthing like this :

/usr/bin/am start -n com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity -a android.intent.action.VIEW -eu Uri "file://%rom%"
  • /usr/bin/am is the command used to give you the rights to do something on your system.
  • start -n is the command used to start application
  • com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity is the name of the application to start
  • -a android.intent.action.VIEW is the action to do with the application (here VIEW/OPEN)
  • -eu Uri "file://%rom%" indicate which file VIEW/OPEN with the application

Into Advanced Launcher it will look like this :
  • Application : /usr/bin/am
  • Argument : start -n com.explusalpha.MdEmu/com.imagine.BaseActivity -a android.intent.action.VIEW -eu Uri "file://%rom%"

Now... where found com.explusalpha.MdEmu? If I do not mistake, on most android system they are installed into /data/data/ folder.
find quote
Post Reply