Drobo Pro FS for a NAS?
Question 
http://www.drobo.com/products/drobopro-fs.php

What do you think of it?

Or something similar can be built cheaper?

What I like from this is that it has Protection from up to Two Drive Failures...

I am a noob on NAS servers.... Rofl
I think you must have deeper pockets than I do, I paid less for my used honda accord.

I believe dropping 2 drives is just raid....6? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RA...els#RAID_6

I have to believe that you could build a pretty kick ass system for far less, some of their proprietary stuff might be hard to compare apples to apples but when it comes down to it 2 grand is a lot of money.
Yes, it's called ZFS.

"NAS" OSes:
FreeNAS
NexentaStor

Full Blown OSes:
FreeBSD
Nexenta
OpenIndiana
Solaris Express 11.

I just pulled all of my 1.5TB Western Digital Drives WHICH PERFORM HORRIBLY IN RAID OF ANY SORT DO NOT EVER BUY WESTERN DIGITAL DRIVES UNTIL THEY STOP INTENTIONALLY CRIPPLING THEIR "CONSUMER DRIVES".

And replaced them, with 2TB Seagate drives.
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...-_-Product

with 4xhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152245&cm_re=samsung_2tb-_-22-152-245-_-Product

go for raid 5 and u have enough redundancy, enough power for all streaming stuff.
grantd Wrote:I think you must have deeper pockets than I do, I paid less for my used honda accord.

I believe dropping 2 drives is just raid....6? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RA...els#RAID_6

I have to believe that you could build a pretty kick ass system for far less, some of their proprietary stuff might be hard to compare apples to apples but when it comes down to it 2 grand is a lot of money.

No deep pockets... trying to find out what is out there that is much cheaper that will do what the Drobo does....