New XBMC Live Install = No Sound
Hi,

I had XBMC installed on Windows XP. Everything worked as expected. I connected the PC to a HDTV via DVI to HDMI cable. Then used the PC onboard sound and plugged that from the headphones port to the TV. I installed XBMC Live 10.0 Dharma as advised by some very knowledgeable users in another thread. (By the way I am totally new to Linux) I eventually got everything installed to the hard drive from the XBMC Live DVD I burnt. Had some major pains to get the SMB Shares recognised.

Everything now works except for the sound. I can hear sound through the PC's built in speakers. But when I link the PC to TV via the headphone jack as I did with windows XP the sound disappears. The funny thing is when I press cnt+Alt and F2 to get to the command line thingy the sound magically comes back. But when within XBMC itself nothing. I have made sure everything is unmuted but nothing.

I have a theory though. I think the sound Drivers are too new as I had a similar problem when I installed Windows 7 on this same PC a while back. The sound worked but when plugging in headphones the PC ignored it and played sound through the built in speakers.

Is there any way I can change the drivers for the sound?
I hope someone can help me as I am close to giving up, I have been at it all day trying to sort this. Sad

My specs are Compaq Evo D500 Desktop PC, Pentium 4 2GHz, 768MB Ram, nVIDIA GeForce 8400GS Graphics Card.
Did you have a look at "settings" in xbmc?

There is a few sound options to play around with.
Yup, I have tried all the different options in the settings screen in XBMC. I am at a total loss here. Maybe if I get a seperate PCI soundcard and reinstall everything that may solve the problem.
have you been in programs/audio mixer and un-muted everything in there? Also turn it up to 100%