Cheap NAS setup for ATV2?
I've been futzing around trying to figure out how to set up a decent XBMC box for my living room. That means it has to fit the following:

- Wireless access
- Girlfriend friendly
- 720P is probably fine
- External hard drive support

I was looking at the ATV2 but it obviously has no USB port. I've never messed around with NAS before, but I am a software developer so I consider myself fairly competant with computery stuff.

I've searched around and seen a couple topics here and there about this idea, but what about taking an external hard drive and hooking it up to something like the PogoPlug? http://www.amazon.com/Pogoplug-POGO-E02-...pd_sim_e_1

This thing looks like the cheapest way of getting a NAS up that ATV2 will hopefully work with over wireless. The only thing I don't like about it is that it is using 3rd party software...I have seen other devices like TonidoPlug that looks like a good alternative.

What do you guys think?
the ATV2 does have a usb port, its a micro USB port, but as far as I am aware, there are no host drivers available so you couldn't use it with an external drive. However, you do need to use it in the jailbreak process that then allows you to install XBMC.

I've never used a pogo device like that, but there are a lot of routes you can consider. First being either that pogo thing, another being upgrade to a router that allows USB sharing - which means plug an external drive into the router, and anyone can see it on your network. Or go full on and build a datadump server, which is basically a small, cheap little box that just stores your hard drives you want to use for all your movies, music, tv shows, photos, etc that will stream to XBMC on the ATV2 or what ever you build.