Posts: 3,545
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation:
120
2023-02-26, 08:02
(This post was last modified: 2023-02-26, 08:10 by teeedubb. Edited 1 time in total.)
No editing or compilation of scripts is required for the addon to work - compiling the AHK script is only required when making changes to the scripts. I was running out of time when I added the info to the readme and was rushing, ill take another look at the readme when I get time and add some clarification around that.
Normally the addon passes all those arguments to the script, you only need to add the arguments yourself if you are running the bundled scripts outside of the addon, via the command line. Check the debug log for an example after running the addon, its printed in there.
As for your issue, are you exiting steam quickly when the issue happens? I've been able to replicate your issue when doing that. The Kodi process lingers for a bit after closing it, and only one instance of kodi can be run on windows at any time, so the addon is running kodi when its already running and kodi doesnt run at all because it was already running, albeit in the process of shutting itself down. I think thats whats causing the issue. To see, open task manager, set it to be always ontop, scroll down to where K would be in the 'background processes' list and then run the addon and see if the kodi process is still in the list when you exit steam. I dont think this is a deal breaker under normal circumstances, but if so, can you enable force killing of Kodi in the addon settings and see if that helps. Alternatively you could add a post steam script to kill the Kodi process.
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2023
Reputation:
1
Some small code fixes.
main.py 320: elif preScriptEnabled == 'true':
That should be postScriptEnabled.
You use the error message 50215 a lot, I'm guessing you meant 50125 instead. As it is now most errors say "Post Steam script does not exist, disabling!". I spent hours trying to figure out why not having a post steam script enabled was causing such an issue, turns out I didn't have xdotool but was still getting that error message.
Posts: 3,545
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation:
120
2023-03-22, 10:47
(This post was last modified: 2023-03-22, 11:02 by teeedubb. Edited 1 time in total.)
It's been a while since I wrote that code but I believe that it's there to prevent a CMD window from popping up. Can you confirm if a CMD window pops up if the comspec prefix is removed?
Edit is this when quitting or force quitting? Im thinking it's system dependant because quitting works on win 10 and 11 machines for me. But if the window is hidden removing the prefix doesn't matter
Posts: 83
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation:
0
Hi. I have been using this addon for years and have been very happy with it. As time has passed Steam has evolved and I think there is a need for more options in the settings. Steam can now have several accounts "logged in" on the same computer/windows account. When switching between steam-accounts Steam closes and starts again with the other steam-account. During this time the script that Steam Launcher is running thinks I'm done playing and goes back in to Kodi. Maybe there should be a time delay setting in Steam Launcher to see if Steam/Big Picture starts again before going back to Kodi. Thanks! :-)
Windows 11, Intel i9 9900K, 16GB RAM, Asus Geforce RTX 3060 Phoenix
Posts: 3,545
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation:
120
Looks like the zip file is corrupted. Can you open it in windows? Tried redownloading it?