questions from a newbie about htpc!!
I am what you would consider a complete novice when it comes to HTPC's (no experience whatsoever). I am currently building a dedicated theater and was going to incorporate a stand alone bluray player to play my titles (what normal used to be, lol). The idea of having movies on a server and not having to get up every time I want to watch something was recently brought to my attention. I would like to know if there is any loss in quality using a htpc as opposed to a bluray player? Also, would there be any reason I would still need to purchase a bluray player if i decided on a htpc? My usage would be primarily for watching bluray's (90%) and music (10%). I have been reading on these forums a lot and you guys have been a great help! However, I am still not confident in my skills for customizing, let alone, building a htpc from scratch. Are there any reputable builders that can piece one together for me? Sorry for all the questions but this is just the beginning. lol. Thanks in advance for all the help!
Your Very First HTPC? But Where do You Start?
Try not to be too intimidated about building your own system. It really is not as hard as it looks.
See here for my build with pictures.

Also, if you know someone who's good with computers,..they would probably love to help you out by building it for you.
You buy parts, they build it. I'd build one for a friend.
Thanks for the link eskro, I have researching tirelessly in that thread. Gort, I will definitely follow your build as I plan on building something extremely similar should I continue down this path. How does an HTPC stack up next to a bluray player? Is video/audio quality the same? Do you guys still have bluray players in your setups in tandem with the HTPC?