• 1(current)
NextPVR (NPVR) First Impressions
Being a MediaPortal user/developer for many years and a ForTheRecord user for over a year I have enjoyed the perpetual challenge of setting up the 'perfect' HTPC. I am always looking for the 'bigger and better deal'. Smile

MediaPortal was my main software of choice for many years, mainly because I am a c# developer and I could expand/create plugins. But I always loved the setup simplicity, quick and slick looking interface of XBMC. The only missing piece was PVR integration. Then PVR was added to XBMC and Margro quickly added MediaPortal support. While it worked great it was missing advanced scheduling features, thus the need for ForTheRecord integration. While I also love ForTheRecord it is missing HD-PVR & Colossus support and I had to integrated it with MediaPortal to use my tuners and have the advanced scheduling. So the search for a single Windows back-end was still on...

Then yesterday sub3 (NextPVR developer) posted on a thread about the NextPVR software. It has advanced scheduling, web guide, supports the tuners I use and sub3 is working hard on XBMC PVR integration. He invited me to try out his addon so I decided to install it and give it a go.

Installation went very smooth and configuration was very intuitive (for me anyway.) I followed the guides and configured the tuners, codecs and added the guide information. Its integrated schedules direct support was great and I was able to import my channels for the HD-PVR's without hassle. I scanned the ATSC channels on the HDHomeRun and tied it to schedules direct guide.

After the guide import finished I exited the configuration and went immediately to the guide, selected a channel and everything worked great. Never have I had a piece of software install and configure so quickly. Maybe it was the experience I've gained configuring MediaPortal and ForTheRecord over the years, I can't really say.