First HTPC/Desktop Build - advice appreciated
So, it's my first attempt at any build nevermind a HTPC...

My needs are split between a HTPC and a 'normal' PC that I will occasionally be gaming on but mostly doing uni work - Computer Science so mostly coding, nothing mega intensive.

Requirements;
Stream quality video via XBMC
Run plenty of applications at once.
Occasional gaming (Steam) - not bothered about super max settings but would like it last a while
Cope with Visual Studio/SQL server management studio etc.
Relatively quiet/low power
Boot quick
Fit under the TV
Option to add blu-ray player

With those in mind and some furious googling I've come up with these parts:
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5 inch Basic SATA Solid State Drive - £70.19
WD 2TB Desktop SATA Hard Drive for NAS - OEM - Red - £75.43
MSI H87M-G43 m-ATX Motherboard - £63.41
Kingston Technology HyperX BLU 4GB - £31.42
Asus 2GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost Graphics Card - £129.99
Intel Core i5 4570S Quad Core Retail CPU - £149.99
Noctua NH-L9i CPU Cooler for Socket 1155 / 1156 - £34.95
Silverstone SST-GD08B USB 3.0 HTPC Case - £124.99
orsair Builder Series CXM 500W Modular 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX/EPS PSU - £47.23

Total - £754.02

Now you may think that is overkill and it very well may be so I'm open to any cost-cutting advice that won't make too much difference to performance or benefit. It's also quite possible that some of these parts aren't compatible, which is my main reason for posting here so please do tell if you spot something. Does anyone have any better recommendations or cheaper prices for those parts as they're all from amazon?

I have a couple of specific questions, do I need a 500W PSU for all that gear and is the one I've chosen suitable for that case? Do I really need a CPU cooler? Is that motherboard suitable? Also, is there anything I need to buy in terms of building the machine, anti-static gloves etc? I already have some small screwdrivers.