Useing kodi on the move
Hi all i'm new to this so if this topic has been covered before i do apologize

i would like to no i travel a lot an have kodi installed on my laptop my question is would i get a connection if i used a sim card internet dongle so i can still use it while im on the move or does it need to be a better internet connection
Kodi does not provide content. Kodi doesn't give you any TV shows, movies, or anything. You are pirating stuff off the internet, that doesn't come from us. If you don't know where the movies and TV shows come from, then you're probably pirating, and we won't help you with that. That's not what Kodi was designed to do. Read the little blurb on: free content (wiki)
(2015-06-07, 13:11)pickledpoon Wrote: Hi all i'm new to this so if this topic has been covered before i do apologize

i would like to no i travel a lot an have kodi installed on my laptop my question is would i get a connection if i used a sim card internet dongle so i can still use it while im on the move or does it need to be a better internet connection

<edit>
in the text below i was assuming the original poster implicitly meant streaming their own content residing at home network
</edit>

I have bought my kodi boxes for that purpose exactly. Xbmc/kodi seems d only system that streams from "symbolic url" rather lan IP only.

I have set up a url using synology ddns and have created my libs in those terms. Intention was to be able to take my kodi outside my home and still play my own content. Tried this recently to watch a movie from my inlaws' place, streaming off the nas in my house.
It worked brilliantly!
So it is possible to take ur box with you "on the move" and stream from another location.

Requirments:
- have a fixed IP from ur inet provider or use a ddns url pointing to ur modem
- have the required port forwarding defined so traffic reaching ur modem finds its way to ur nas
- ur nas needs to have fixed or static ip in ur lan for the port forwarding to work