Newbie - Help please setting up Kodi on VU+ Duo

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
The One Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi All

I am looking to install Kodi on my VU+ Duo.

Please can someone point me in the direction of set up instructions or provide instructions?

Thanks in advance.
find quote
trogggy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,811
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 132
Location: Monthou sur Cher, France
Post: #2
According to this thread you need a Duo 2.
find quote
kidomonster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Huh? you don't install kodi on the vu box, kodi and the vu addon is installed on windows or android and accesses your vu box to stream from the vu box.
The default pvr settings are mostly ok, just change the IP address to the one your vu box has been given.
find quote
trogggy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,811
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 132
Location: Monthou sur Cher, France
Post: #4
(2015-10-16 20:26)kidomonster Wrote:  Huh? you don't install kodi on the vu box, kodi and the vu addon is installed on windows or android and accesses your vu box to stream from the vu box.
The default pvr settings are mostly ok, just change the IP address to the one your vu box has been given.
I'm guessing you haven't read the link then.
find quote
kidomonster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
No, but I just did and remember seeing the xbmc plugin in blackhole. Doesn't look like its ready yet, which may be the very reason why things ain't working for the TS.
find quote
The One Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
So I can stream from android tablet to vu? I have kodi running on my tablet but can't find anyway to stream to box?
(This post was last modified: 2015-10-16 22:57 by The One.)
find quote
kidomonster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Lets first establish what you want to do because there is a difference between watching a static item or real streaming.

What are you expecting to happen or trying to do?
Depending on the image used you have a mediascanner plugin next to xbmc.
Or are you trying to use DLNA/UPnP to pickup DLNA/UPnP content from your tablet on the vu box?
Here are 2 query links which may make things a bit more clearer:
https://www.google.nl/#q=dlna+upnp+enigma2
https://www.google.nl/#q=dlna+upnp+enigma2+kodi
If xbmc(=kodi) is not working for you, there are other DLNA/UPnP plugins for enigma2 which do work.
find quote
The One Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2015-10-17 00:56)kidomonster Wrote:  Lets first establish what you want to do because there is a difference between watching a static item or real streaming.

What are you expecting to happen or trying to do?
Depending on the image used you have a mediascanner plugin next to xbmc.
Or are you trying to use DLNA/UPnP to pickup DLNA/UPnP content from your tablet on the vu box?
Here are 2 query links which may make things a bit more clearer:
https://www.google.nl/#q=dlna+upnp+enigma2
https://www.google.nl/#q=dlna+upnp+enigma2+kodi
If xbmc(=kodi) is not working for you, there are other DLNA/UPnP plugins for enigma2 which do work.

Thanks

Well in my original post I wanted to set up kodi directly on my vu duo but according to some responses in this thread it is not supported?

If it is not supported then I want to use my tablet which has kodi on it to stream to my tv/box. Is this possible? If so how as I am new to all this and not sure. Not sure what is meant by dlna etc, sorry!

I have vix image and can't see an xbmc plug in on the box.

Thanks
find quote
kidomonster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2015-10-17 10:59)The One Wrote:  Well in my original post I wanted to set up kodi directly on my vu duo but according to some responses in this thread it is not supported?
It is but its not mature enough yet so thing either don't work as expected or not at all.
Quote:If it is not supported then I want to use my tablet which has kodi on it to stream to my tv/box. Is this possible? If so how as I am new to all this and not sure. Not sure what is meant by dlna etc, sorry!
I have vix image and can't see an xbmc plug in on the box.
If your running android then have a read here;
https://www.maketecheasier.com/dlna-stre...s-android/
Atm. I'm not sure if kodi can also act as a DLNA server, if it can you don't need another app.
For access to such DLNA/UPnP devices on your vu box your going to need a DLNA/UPnP client for your vix image, update your plugin list and have a look whats there. If there is no plugin your going to need a different image.
find quote
robbiebox361 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
i have vuo+ duo2 and running openvix ,there is a link inthe extensions for running kodi ditect..i have this loaded in ..and works to a certain degree..it has crashed on a few occassions,exodus wouldnt work and dandy,but still playing,best thing that works are the porn channels,which i dont quite understand why...still only getting used to it..i had kodi on the blackhole version,which was jarvis i believe and that was preloaded....update,i have tried quite a few add ons, and as i said only the porn worked,about 80%,but have now got 1 working with movies,all be with subtitles,but not spoiling.and i have watched and downloaded abut 10 movies to my hdd,with no problems..here is details..kodi direct...install addons...install from kodidirect list..then scroll down to ..international...then albanian...seriala-filma24 al...this works great,and is one of the few in the lists..when i tried the non kodi ones (zip file etc)box crashed and restarted..none of the sports worked,which was dissapointing..
(This post was last modified: 2016-11-09 12:10 by robbiebox361.)
find quote
isahbrown02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2016-11-08 19:58)robbiebox361 Wrote:  i have vuo+ duo2 and running openvix ,there is a link inthe extensions for running kodi ditect..i have this loaded in ..and works to a certain degree..it has crashed on a few occassions,exodus wouldnt work and dandy,but still playing,best thing that works are the porn channels,which i dont quite understand why...still only getting used to it..i had kodi on the blackhole version,which was jarvis i believe and that was preloaded....update,i have tried quite a few add ons, and as i said only the porn worked,about 80%,but have now got 1 working with movies,all be with subtitles,but not spoiling.and i have watched and downloaded abut 10 movies to my hdd,with no problems..here is details..kodi direct...install addons...install from kodidirect list..then scroll down to ..international...then albanian...seriala-filma24 al...this works great,and is one of the few in the lists..when i tried the non kodi ones (zip file etc)box crashed and restarted..none of the sports worked,which was dissapointing..

Can you please share the link?
(This post was last modified: 2017-01-24 18:54 by isahbrown02.)
find quote