Newbie here, Files not visible on other devices?
New to Kodi, just installed it on my windows 7 PC, followed one of the you tube guides and installed recommended add ons for the repositories etc, added my video, music and picture files, the trouble is I cant see any of the files in the folders on my Samsung UHD TV, and my older Samsung semi smart TV upstairs, both see Kodi and the two of the folders ( music and video, but no pictures) but the folders are empty,
I have tried re configuring both windows shares and Kodi but nothing I have done so far has made any difference? my windows shares remain visible and playable.

I will add this is the second install of kodi (both Jarvis 16.0) and the first one I followed a slightly different guide and initially the files where visible to the TV, however I am pretty sure that all the add ons are the same, and the set up is also the same, what could I be doing wrong?

Making me feel stupid, as I suspect its something basic I have overlooked.
If you are adding local video files, pictures, music then you don't need any add-ons. So be careful with those YouTube videos as there are some very out of date and plain dodgy ones.

Basically all you need to do in KODI is...

Install KODI - just plain simple download from the links at the top of the page..
Go into SETTINGS and make sure that UPnP is turned on - http://kodi.wiki/view/UPnP/Server
Go into VIDEOS and ADD VIDEOS - http://kodi.wiki/view/Quick_start_guide

You should now have a simple KODI setup with local files shared around your home network. There is a lot of info in that WIKI and it is worth getting your head around the core KODI before diving into confusing add-ons.
That's more or less what I did, the only difference is that when I add the video/music/picture folder locations I don't ever get a set content window appear after the add source window, so I am guessing that is the problem, so why is that happening?