Release - Mimic 4.x for Krypton (discontinued)

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #1
After seeing Team Kodi switch the default theme for Kodi 17, I decided to take the plunge and replace Mimic 4.x with the version I've been working on the past few months. While it doesn't have as many home customization options as v4, the code is much cleaner and there are many new features. It has also become too difficult to maintain 2 versions of the skin. If I went with Mimic 4 for the life of Kodi 17, it would have only received fixes for major bugs and not much else. By switching to Mimic 5, it will be much better supported. Hope those of you that are completely satisfied with v4 will understand.

mim·ic
1. To imitate
Synonyms: resemble, look like, have the appearance of


watch gallery


Introduction

Users of this skin will quickly see the resemblance to two of my favorite skins, Aeon Nox and reFocus. Even as Mimic borrows from both of these skins, my hope is that it will develop into its own style over time. Many thanks to BigNoid for his work on Aeon Nox, on which this skin is based. I've used many of the available skins since discovering XBMC/Kodi, but always returned to one of the Nox variations for its feature set and clear navigation. Also thank you to Jeroen, creator of reFocus, whose clean design and attention to detail were an inspiration for this skin. Mimic also borrows some of the great views from reFocus such as Gallery and BigList. More recently, this skin now "mimics" features from Arctic Zephyr and its mods, fTV, and Phil65's skin.

Required Addons

These addons will automatically install when installing Mimic from the repository. Supported Addons
Frequently Asked Questions
  1. Why don't the home widgets work with a mouse?
    The skin is designed for use with a remote or keyboard, mouse support is limited. For best results using a mouse or touch device, be sure to enable the skin setting to show the home widgets all the time. Skin Settings --> Home window --> Always show home widgets
  2. Why isn't rss text displayed when using the Feedreader screensaver?
    I've modified the skin for this addon to only display photos. One source of photo rss feeds is flickr. Try using the following rss link, replacing "yosemite" with your preferred keyword.
    Code:
    http://api.flickr.com/services/feeds/photos_public.gne?tags=yosemite
    You can also use your favorite flickr group. Just use the following code after updating the group's id, which you can find by pasting the group's url here: http://idgettr.com/
    Code:
    http:[email protected]1
    If you prefer the original Feedreader display, delete script-Feedreader-Main.xml from the skin's 1080i folder.
  3. Why are some of my random fanart backgrounds black, or why don't my thumbnails show up?
    This is likely caused by missing or corrupted images in your texture cache. I suggest using the Texture Cache Maintenance Utility to clean up and repair your cached textures. It is also useful for finding duplicate media in your library and updating IMDb ratings. I posted a guide to setting it up in Window 8.1.
  4. Why isn't artwork displayed in the music playlist window?
    Try removing \Kodi\cache\MusicPlaylist.fi
Languages

Mimic is now on Transifex. Sign up to translate the skin strings into your preferred language.

https://www.transifex.com/teamxbmc/kodi-skins/

Download/Install

Mimic 4.x is now available in the Kodi repository. The source is available here: https://github.com/braz96/skin.mimic/tree/krypton_v4

If you would like to express your appreciation for this skin, please consider a donation to the XBMC Foundation. http://kodi.tv/contribute/donate/
(This post was last modified: 2016-11-24 20:41 by braz.)
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #2
Being able to add a movie set list to the video info dialog is pretty cool. Also skinned the game controller dialog, mostly just copied the Confluence example.

[Image: GcPxw29.jpg]

[Image: b7Bh4zN.jpg]
find quote
Mfleigle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
The skin is broken in the nightlies due to https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/9114
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #4
(2016-04-05 06:52)Mfleigle Wrote:  The skin is broken in the nightlies due to https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/9114
Aware of that change but not going to make it until I can install a nightly that includes the feature. The last few Windows nightlies are broken.

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=267372
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-05 07:19 by braz.)
find quote
mark_dj Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Does this currently also break whenever the skin has to build shortcuts ? I installed the skin, but whenever I go back to the home screen no shortcuts are being built making the skin unusable at the moment.

Running Kodi 17 build 0404 on RP3.

Edit: also (re-)installed the required add-ons just in case, but no luck.
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-05 15:46 by mark_dj.)
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #6
(2016-04-05 13:01)mark_dj Wrote:  Does this currently also break whenever the skin has to build shortcuts ? I installed the skin, but whenever I go back to the home screen no shortcuts are being built making the skin unusable at the moment.

Running Kodi 17 build 0404 on RP3.

Edit: also (re-)installed the required add-ons just in case, but no luck.
The skin is usable on the April 1 Kodi nightly. I haven't been able to run any of the more recent builds to test.
find quote
mark_dj Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2016-04-05 15:51)braz Wrote:  
(2016-04-05 13:01)mark_dj Wrote:  Does this currently also break whenever the skin has to build shortcuts ? I installed the skin, but whenever I go back to the home screen no shortcuts are being built making the skin unusable at the moment.

Running Kodi 17 build 0404 on RP3.

Edit: also (re-)installed the required add-ons just in case, but no luck.
The skin is usable on the April 1 Kodi nightly. I haven't been able to run any of the more recent builds to test.

Ah I see. In that case I'll wait until it's properly supported Smile
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #8
Ok, I just updated the skin to use the new includes syntax. This requires a Kodi nightly dated after April 1.

Let me know if you see any missing textures or other weird stuff, not sure if I caught all of the includes that needed updating.
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-06 07:26 by braz.)
find quote
Mfleigle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
(2016-04-06 06:02)braz Wrote:  Ok, I just updated the skin to use the new includes syntax. This requires a Kodi nightly dated after April 1.

Let me know if you see any missing textures or other weird stuff, not sure if I caught all of the includes that needed updating.
Zoom/aspect ratio osd doesn't work for me. Pressing Z on the keyboard changes the Zoom/aspect ratio but no osd appears to show which mode its in
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #10
Added a new widget style for the vertical layout...uses the Thumbnail view so all widget types take up the same amount of space.

[Image: 5Yhp9eG.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-11 17:24 by braz.)
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #11
(2016-04-09 21:27)Mfleigle Wrote:  
(2016-04-06 06:02)braz Wrote:  Ok, I just updated the skin to use the new includes syntax. This requires a Kodi nightly dated after April 1.

Let me know if you see any missing textures or other weird stuff, not sure if I caught all of the includes that needed updating.
Zoom/aspect ratio osd doesn't work for me. Pressing Z on the keyboard changes the Zoom/aspect ratio but no osd appears to show which mode its in
That's because the codec window that displayed the zoom setting was removed in Krypton. No idea if there is a way to display that info when pressing Z. I didn't even know pressing Z did anything until just now. Smile
find quote
Vimes Offline
Fan
Posts: 303
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #12
Just installed the skin and all the addons on build 410 for the Pi 3. It seems fine except when I add a widget (Addons Widget) to the Program menu entry it will then display all the addons on the right Windows pane but I can't navigate to that Windows from the menu on the left.

The same happens if I create a "Favourite" entry. If I select the favourite on the left menu pane it will display the favourites in the widget I have used (Favourites widget) but again I can't navigate to the main Windows to select any of them.

On each of the above I have created a action and that works fine but it is the movement from the menu lkist to the Widget Window on the right pane which doesn't happen. Is that a limitation or am I doing something wrong...?


Thanks Smile
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #13
(2016-04-11 22:16)Vimes Wrote:  Just installed the skin and all the addons on build 410 for the Pi 3. It seems fine except when I add a widget (Addons Widget) to the Program menu entry it will then display all the addons on the right Windows pane but I can't navigate to that Windows from the menu on the left.

The same happens if I create a "Favourite" entry. If I select the favourite on the left menu pane it will display the favourites in the widget I have used (Favourites widget) but again I can't navigate to the main Windows to select any of them.

On each of the above I have created a action and that works fine but it is the movement from the menu lkist to the Widget Window on the right pane which doesn't happen. Is that a limitation or am I doing something wrong...?


Thanks Smile
Do you have the latest script.skinshortcuts installed? Mimic uses widget templates and it sounds like it's not identifying the correct ID for the widget.
find quote
Vimes Offline
Fan
Posts: 303
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #14
Thanks for the prompt reply.

I have version 1.0.8 installed of the script.skinshortcuts.

All the necessary add-ons are green ticked, as being installed
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,254
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 100
Post: #15
@Vimes

You'll have to post a debug log, you're the first to report this issue...

http://kodi.wiki/view/Log_file/Easy
find quote
Post Reply