Intel Kaby Lake Hardware

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #46
[Image: IMG_20161028_175553.jpg]
[Image: IMG_20161028_175756.jpg]
[Image: IMG_20161028_175809.jpg]
  • MSI Cubi Kabylake Testing.
  • x265(Hevc) content works flawlessly without an issue
  • HDR (Life Of Pi and Lg Chess samples) playback is not working,because of the HDMI 1.4 and Club 3D i ordered doesn't support HDR so the HDR signal doesn't activate
  • With @afedchin MVC playback require that you change the resolution to 1920X1080p for 3D playback to work.
  • The device is very smooth and movies load pretty fast even 60GB 4K 10bits files.

More testing result comingBig Grin

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


(This post was last modified: 2016-10-29 23:09 by movie78.)
find quote
piotrasd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 11
Post: #47
so HDMI in device is 1.4 ? and only over DP and adapter we can get HDMI 2.0 ?
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #48
(2016-10-30 00:36)piotrasd Wrote:  so HDMI in device is 1.4 ? and only over DP and adapter we can get HDMI 2.0 ?

I am going to order this One hope HDR works with it..

This is one is not good,HDR signal doesn't work.

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
demasiado Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #49
Any kind soul with an i3 7100U HW willing to test this 4:2:2 H.264 sample (190 MB) ?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5Nbpz5...sp=sharing
Most probably the HW provides no GPU accelerated decoding for this codec ,
so is there enough CPU horsepower for software decoding ?
find quote
Camlann Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
If i'm not wrong the MSI Cubi2 does not have a CIR. What are you using as an IR Receiver?
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #51
(2016-10-30 12:55)Camlann Wrote:  If i'm not wrong the MSI Cubi2 does not have a CIR. What are you using as an IR Receiver?

I will using the FLIRC with Logitech Harmony Remote but for now i am using mouse and keyboard...

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
Camlann Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
(2016-10-30 15:57)movie78 Wrote:  
(2016-10-30 12:55)Camlann Wrote:  If i'm not wrong the MSI Cubi2 does not have a CIR. What are you using as an IR Receiver?

I will using the FLIRC with Logitech Harmony Remote but for now i am using mouse and keyboard...

Thanks for your Answer. Any particular Reason why you choose FLIRC on your MSI over Intel NUC with CIR?
I have two NUC's that i control with a Harmony, and the reason i choose them was simply the ability to Power On the Device from the Harmony.
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #53
(2016-10-30 16:10)Camlann Wrote:  
(2016-10-30 15:57)movie78 Wrote:  
(2016-10-30 12:55)Camlann Wrote:  If i'm not wrong the MSI Cubi2 does not have a CIR. What are you using as an IR Receiver?

I will using the FLIRC with Logitech Harmony Remote but for now i am using mouse and keyboard...

Thanks for your Answer. Any particular Reason why you choose FLIRC on your MSI over Intel NUC with CIR?
I have two NUC's that i control with a Harmony, and the reason i choose them was simply the ability to Power On the Device from the Harmony.

The reason i will be using the Flirc is because there is not CIR for the MSI and when i had my NUC i was using the CIR, so no reason just using what is available for the hardware.

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #54
(2016-10-30 12:03)demasiado Wrote:  Any kind soul with an i3 7100U HW willing to test this 4:2:2 H.264 sample (190 MB) ?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5Nbpz5...sp=sharing
Most probably the HW provides no GPU accelerated decoding for this codec ,
so is there enough CPU horsepower for software decoding ?

Just tested the file in the link, no playback issue here.

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
hdmkv Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 4,173
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 91
Location: SE USA
Post: #55
(2016-10-29 20:54)movie78 Wrote:  Now Hardware base selection just disappear
Thanks for your testing. Is 'Hardware Based' option still a hit-or-miss for you, or working fine now?

(2016-10-29 23:08)movie78 Wrote:  With @afedchin MVC playback require that you change the resolution to 1920X1080p for 3D playback to work.
Sucks that you need to keep toggling between 1080p and 2160p between 3D MVC and 4K.

[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
Kodi 3D MVC Hardware Options
Kodi A/V Samples wiki
3D: Intel D34010WYK w/Kodi MVC build | Zidoo X9S
2D: nVidia Shield TV (2nd gen)
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #56
Full Demo Testing




MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
wesk05 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,413
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 47
Post: #57
(2016-10-30 01:43)movie78 Wrote:  I am going to order this One hope HDR works with it..

This is one is not good,HDR signal doesn't work.

I would say don't bother with it, it doesn't work (unless, you do want to confirm it yourself). I have tested both Club 3D and UPTab adapters and they don't support >8-bit color depth at any resolution. They revert back to 8bpc after a second or so.

That said, I don't think Kodi on Windows support HDR output. Also, only Windows 10 Insider Preview has native support for Rec.2020 and HDR. I have not been able to get any HDR output with Kodi from my nVIDIA GTX 1060 card. HDR does work with the one and only game that supports it: Shadow Warrior 2.

Things could be different with Intel GPU, but as it is now there is no HDR output with Kodi from nVIDIA GTX 10xx cards.
(This post was last modified: 2016-10-30 19:14 by wesk05.)
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #58
(2016-10-30 19:12)wesk05 Wrote:  
(2016-10-30 01:43)movie78 Wrote:  I am going to order this One hope HDR works with it..

This is one is not good,HDR signal doesn't work.

I would say don't bother with it, it doesn't work (unless, you do want to confirm it yourself). I have tested both Club 3D and UPTab adapters and they don't support >8-bit color depth at any resolution. They revert back to 8bpc after a second or so.

That said, I don't think Kodi on Windows support HDR output. Also, only Windows 10 Insider Preview has native support for Rec.2020 and HDR. I have not been able to get any HDR output with Kodi from my nVIDIA GTX 1060 card. HDR does work with the one and only game that supports it: Shadow Warrior 2.

Things could be different with Intel GPU, but as it is now there is no HDR output with Kodi from nVIDIA GTX 10xx cards.

Thanks you just save me $30Big Grin

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #59
(2016-10-30 16:41)hdmkv Wrote:  
(2016-10-29 20:54)movie78 Wrote:  Now Hardware base selection just disappear
Thanks for your testing. Is 'Hardware Based' option still a hit-or-miss for you, or working fine now?

(2016-10-29 23:08)movie78 Wrote:  With @afedchin MVC playback require that you change the resolution to 1920X1080p for 3D playback to work.
Sucks that you need to keep toggling between 1080p and 2160p between 3D MVC and 4K.

I have tried every setting and now i can't get it back, so yes it is hit or miss, maybe it could be my TV

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
wesk05 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,413
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 47
Post: #60
(2016-10-30 19:24)movie78 Wrote:  Thanks you just save me $30Big Grin
Glad that I was able to save you some money. You can now put that towards your Auro-3D Voice of God speaker Smile

Are you planning on keeping this Cubi 2? Did you get if from Newegg?
(This post was last modified: 2016-10-30 20:23 by wesk05.)
find quote
Post Reply