WIP Kodi in home
Hi all
I've been using Kodi / XBMC for many years now, but have only recently created a proper setup, and share experience. My setup and integration below. Comments and suggestions welcomed (as I'm still figuring the best setup, and how I can tweak what I have).

Always running the latest stable builds on each system, so that these will cooperate nicely with the central server.

I have an office / theatre room (apart from the house) setup running Win 10, with Kodi, connected to a large HD screen as the primary screen (or the only one when viewing) and a Creative THX speaker setup (small speakers, as it's not the biggest of rooms). CPU is an i5, 16GB RAM, Nvidia 750TI 2GB GPU (connected via DVI) and X-Fi Elite Pro soundcard connected via fibre from the external breakout box to the external amp.

Bedroom, I have a Raspberry Pi 3 running OSMC, connected to a 40' FHD screen.
The Pi SD card is only a 4GB one. I use the larger 32GB for another OS. I have some external Bose speakers that I might use instead of the TV sound provided via HDMI, but so far this has been okay. I can also control some functions of Kodi vai the TV remote, with signal sent back to the Pi via the HDMI.

Android tablet with Kodi (the tablet has HDMI out if ever there is a desire to use a larger screen).

Lubuntu laptop also running Kodi (but this is rather old hardware)

Android phone, with Kore which can control any of the installations.

Ubuntu office server running MySQL, with a server grade drive for system and others for media storage, provided via NFS. This machine is headless, administered via SSH, Webmin and my own admin sites. i3, 2GB RAM, on-board Intel graphics.

All devices connected to a gigabit switch. Most run GB, with the Pi and old laptop running 100 and the phone and tablet running via N wireless (there is a router / NAS also attached to the switch for ADSL and 4G failover).

Planned: