Adding podcasts to music

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I've tried to add a "music" folder full of MP3s to my library and it simply won't work. I don't know why.

Aside from that, when I play the MP3s (1-2 hour talk shows) there's no way to drag forward or backward. It seems I have to just listen to the whole thing fro beginning to end. Is there a way to get the slider for mp3s?

Maybe I shouldn't be adding these as music. Does anyone have any suggestions?
find quote
DaveBlake Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,209
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 61
Location: South West England
Post: #2
Are the mp3 files tagged with ID3 metadata? It does not matter that the content isn't actually music, but the library needs tag data e.g. artist, title as a mnimum, otherwise the content is not added to the library.

You can still play non-library music from fileview if you prefer. Also Leia v18 has basic audio book support, that may suit this better.

Sliders on the player OSD I have no idea about. Possibly lack of duration tag, but that is a guess.
find quote
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
No ID3 information. They are just flat recordings. I was hoping to be able to start listening in one room and continue in another but that doesn't seem to work either (I may be doing something wrong).
find quote
DaveBlake Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,209
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 61
Location: South West England
Post: #4
Well just add some metadata Smile
Use something like Mp3tag.

Resume audio playback is not something currently supported by Kodi.
find quote
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Seems like I need to encode it as a black video or something to get the functionality I need. Any plans on putting this in a revision soon?
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,192
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 152
Post: #6
For resume you'd need to use Video section, I believe all you'd need to do is add mp3 as a video file type see advancedsettings.xml#videoextensions (wiki) then just add the folder and use file view to playback.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-14 23:19 by jjd-uk.)
find quote
DaveBlake Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,209
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 61
Location: South West England
Post: #7
I don't have any plans to implement resume on audio playback, no deas about anyone else.

Treating it as video without images is a clever workaround @jjd_uk

The other option is using something like Yatse, just discovered that supports audio resume and movement between devices too.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,192
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 152
Post: #8
Actually we may both be wrong, I don't have anything to test the Audiobook feature so do you understand what this does? https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/11147/...31755b817f

.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-15 12:03 by jjd-uk.)
find quote
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2017-05-14 23:18)jjd-uk Wrote:  For resume you'd need to use Video section, I believe all you'd need to do is add mp3 as a video file type see advancedsettings.xml#videoextensions (wiki) then just add the folder and use file view to playback.

I tried this and it made no difference. I still cannot get resume to work. I added .mp3:
<advancedsettings>
<videoextensions>
<add>.mp3</add>
</videoextensions>
</advancedsettings>
find quote
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2017-05-15 12:00)jjd-uk Wrote:  Actually we may both be wrong, I don't have anything to test the Audiobook feature so do you understand what this does? https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/11147/...31755b817f

.

Yes I understand it. Its a modification to the source. Not interested in doing this.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,192
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 152
Post: #11
That reply was to daveblake, I was pointing that out as it looks to me m4b audio book files will have resume ability, so if you convert the mp3's to m4b files this may give what you want.
find quote
jglazer63 Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I converted them to mp4 and it works fine. Not exactly ideal but seems clean enough. I put a photo of the broadcaster on the mp4 and a title so ... its a video now.

When will m4b be supported?
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,192
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 152
Post: #13
Both m4b and mka are now supported in the nightly development builds for v18, however the audio contained within must be aac encoded.
find quote