Confused - Need help
Hi, I am new to Kodi. I have read the posts "START HERE - Pick the Right Kodi Box (updated May 2017)" and "Xiaomi 4K HDR 'Mi Box' (Android TV set-top box)," along with a few other posts. After reading them I am more confused than when I started as to what buy.

I am looking for a box to run Kodi. I already have a Roku for many other apps. I have done some searches on the S905(x) boxes recommended here. There are many choices. I am familiar with computers and have built several. I would like to know what to look for regarding things similar to building a computer, processor (I'm guessing the S905(x)), memory and things like that. I would like several choices as to what to buy. I live in the USA and would prefer to purchase from Amazon (preferably not a 3rd party, unless recommended), ebay (recommended seller), newegg, or local retailer store. To me computers are so much easier. Thanks. Rob
All I know from what information you provided, is that your want a box to run Kodi. Well buy any of those in the "START HERE" thread and be done with it.

Sent from my HTC 10
If you are aiming at S905. I preferred using cheap Odroid C2 with emmc card and installed current version of libreELEC. This will boot directly to Kodi.
I am not aiming at anything in particular. I am open to all suggestions. I am looking to learn what I can. Regarding the S905, I was just parroting what I read.
Since you have a Roku, the need for a box running Android (or Windows) for streaming apps should be negated, so I'd look at something that will run Libreelec (a dedicated Kodi box). But without knowing what sort of content you plan on watching on Kodi (broadcast TV/PVR, 3D, 4K, etc) no way to narrow it down past that. There are several great LE devices, ranging from $40 S905X boxes to $100+ Chromeboxes or NUCs with the RPi3 in the middle but they all have their own strengths depending on particular content.