Linux Linux on Windows 10
Hi all.
I have a pretty basic setup; the media is stored on a the home PC and Kodi plays on the HTPC in a separate room, both running Windows 10, no add ons other that Aeon Nox.
I'd like to run Linux on the home PC but I have never used Linux before.
Will I have to run Linux on both machines?
If so, is there anyway to keep my library and its history intact?

And is setting up Kodi on Linux easy?
I've been here but I don't understand it. http://kodi.wiki/view/HOW-TO:Install_Kod...rom_source

Thanks.
No you will not need linux on both machines

Backing up and restoring the database will require a bit more information.

If you install Ubuntu or a derivative in the ubuntu family, Kodi is no sweat.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
First you have to decide which kind of Linux you want to install. I would recommend Ubuntu in the version 16.04 as Kodi works pretty good on it.

Kodi on Linux is easily able to connect to the network shares your Windows 10 machine provides. For testing and playing around with Linux and to prevent to break things, I would recommend to use some left over HDD you might have and install Linux on that. So you are able to drop that Linux installation completely, plug in the other HDD again which contains your working Windows installation.

After installing Ubuntu is done you have to understand how Linux works in general. In windows you are able to download some files, double-click them, hit "next" for a few times and you are done with the installation. That's a bit different for Linux. Software is provided in so called "repositories" (repo in short) which you can imagine as a box which contains several software. If you install Ubuntu, you the Ubuntu-repo is already installed and you are able to get most of the software you need from there.