Overcoming the filename limitations
Could this maybe be done by using a sort of "transition" between the file system and what's being shown in the XBMC and FTP?

Let me take an example:

Filename is 50 characters long. The limit is 32 (or something) in FATX. How about storing the 50char long filename in a database, so that each time when a file is being requested/accessed, it accesses the 32char file on the hard drive with a "flag" attached to it, accesses the database and gets the full 50char name. Same with FTP: all in/out traffic passes through this database. Result; the 32char name is "hidden" from the used, who only sees the full 50char name.

Dunno if this explanation was understandable? But could it be done? Seems like a pretty easy, straightforward way to overcome the limitation in my ears (buth then again, I'm not a programmer Wink )

Awesome if someone could look into this. Especially with long audio filenames that includes artist-album-song this is a problem. And dealing with long filenames with an number ending - the last file gets overwritten by the new one with the same reduced filename when transferring via ftp.
So basically this was a total crap idea or what?
It's been thought of before, and (as per usual) noone has stumped up to write said code. A search will yield a myriad of threads, which will even have some implementation ideas in them (by me at least, and I suspect by other developers as well).

We have few developers, and none of them (generally) store stuff on the xbox, as it's inefficient. So it's unlikely to come from the core team.

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.