Time to move away from HTPC??
Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum although I remember XBMC from the original XBOX as the best media player I had, followed by the WD TV Live, none of which can play 3D ISO's with Atmos, sadly.

I have been building HTPC's for a few years now and the family really enjoy watching 3D movies with Atmos soundtrack on our LG OLED from a NAS using PowerDVD or DVDFAb Player. Few months ago I noticed an issue, which I can only describe as macroblocking, which made watching 3D movies impossible. After a lot of troubleshooting, I tried another HDMI port on the TV and it was fine. Few weeks ago, the macroblocking on the TV started again, no matter what HDMI port I tried I could not get rid of it. I tested the issue using 2 different PC's and got the same result.  I thought the 3D on my TV was broken and had an engineer booked in to look at it.

As one last attempt to see if the TV was OK before the engineer arrived, I bought a dedicated bluray player and used one of my discs. Thankfully, my TV is working fine and turns out it must be the PC. I don't know how to fix it without maybe wiping the HTPC and seeing if this may resolve it as it might be a Windows 10 related issue, so I am looking for some help or advice.

I am using an Intel i3-8100 CPU and integrated Intel UHD 630 graphics card, 8GB RAM, SSD and Windows 10 64 bit  as my main HTPC.

Is it worth trying to install Kodi MVC build to see if I can get 3D movies with Atmos to work or buy a device like the Vero 4K+?

Sorry for the long post and background, I hope it was useful context.

Thanks,
Shailesh
You could try Raspberry Pi 3b - as that can play 3D out of the box - and if you use passthrough on HDMI, you 'should' get Atmos working.
Server: Ubuntu Server 22TB HDD running SAMBA
Kodi: 4 Raspberry Pi 3 running Libreelec -  on the main PC - running Linux Mint
My Setup thread |
(2021-04-10, 01:14)shailesh1 Wrote: Hello,