Does KODI corrupt itself over time?
I have been using KODi on and off for many years, multiple different hardware set ups, verity of different Windows OS, dedicated PC's "not used to web surf, so don't believe its viral issues", only things I run normally is KODI, Emby/Plexx server for streaming to the rest of the house and Eventghost, no add-ons, all movies have been stored on a verity ways, internal hard drives, external hard drive, NAS device.  Seems like as time goes on, more and more issues start popping up.   Crashes, freeze up, trouble launching movies, things like that.  Updating KODI, uninstalling and reinstalling does not fix, only solution has been to wipe windows and start over.   AS stated this has seemed to be on ongoing for years, through mutiple versions of KODI.  Any one else noticed this?
No.  My mishaps using Kodi were brought on by myself;  Improper shutdowns, alpha/beta builds and add-ons, my own experiments, overlapping upgrades, improper settings for my usage, hardware/software/driver changes, etc.  I cured all this by always having a back-up of a working install.  I simply copy and paste my entire userdata folder, from time to time, that I can quickly retrieve to replace an install I bungled that isn't worth the time to repair.  Never, ever, have I needed to resort to reinstalling an O/S such as Windows due to something I messed up in Kodi.
HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players iso menus
DIY HOME THEATER WIND EFFECT

W11 Pro 24H2 MPC-BE\HC madVR KODI 22 GTX960-4GB/RGB 4:4:4/Desktop 60Hz 8bit Video Matched Refresh rates 23,24,50,60Hz 8/10/12bit/Samsung 82" Q90R Denon S720W