Back button from video player to info screen and from info screen to home
Dear community,

I have been bugging myself over this problem for a while, and couldn't find a solution on the forum anywhere that fits my case. I hope that this thread is under the right subject, I'm a newbie so forgive me if I did something wrong.

Essentially when I click a poster, from for example the movie home screen, it takes me to the info page, where I can click play. But if I decide to click back from the the video player, it sends me to the file structure, and not to the (movie) home screen or the info page.
The same thing happens with TV shows, except here I can't go back after I clicked the 'Browse' button to look for episodes/seasons.

It is pretty annoying because I have to click 4-5 times depending on the type of content before I'm back at the home menu. There were solutions posted somewhere, but all had to do with a custom button of which I don't have one left (I have the Shield TV remote). And having a dedicated button for what another button could do too is not ideal.

I currently have the default skin of Kodi, but if the UI is pretty enough I'd consider switching, if that makes any difference.

So to summarise: is there a way that when you are in the video player and just finished a movie, you can click the back button and return to the home menu? (essentially just like a streaming service app would do)
Doesn't happen for me so we'll need a full debug log.

The instructions are here... debug log (wiki)

If you are using the Basic Method, then ensure the following is applied...
1.Enable debugging in Settings>System Settings>Logging,
2.Restart Kodi
3.Replicate the problem.
4.Upload the log to Kodi Paste Site manually or use the Kodi Logfile Uploader. (wiki) With either method post the link to the log back here.

If you are using the Advanced Method ensure you have correctly created and applied the advancedsettings.xml file (wiki)