In-video character search addon for Kodi
Name: Arvind N

forum/e-mail: *removed by moderator*

Personal background: I work as a C++ and web technologies developer in a company and have used Kodi extensively for watching many TV shows and movies using the Exodus and Krypton plugins. I have great respect for the Kodi project and am excited at the opportunity to be able to contribute to this project!

Summary: In-video feature to search for characters from video being watched and their background

How will I achieve this: The idea of the project is to allow people who are binge-watching shows to pause and search for the character and their wikipedia information from within the video viewing interface itself. I have personally faced this issue many times where I am watching a show but cannot place where the character is from. So, I pause, take screenshot and then go to Google image search and search for the person. This is a time taking process. instead if we can have an add-on that can do this in background, then this will make the video viewing experience even better. This is similar to the in-video data feature that is offered by Amazon prime Video. 

What will the project focus on: The project will be broken into parts:
1. Gather data to be searched
Here, we can start with a crude method where clicking on the add-on will pause the video and prompt user to select which character he wants to search about using snapshotting tool. Then, the selected snap will be sent to the API to perform search operation
2. Perform search operation
Image search can be done using Google Images or any other open source image database online (like IMDB) and output data can be parsed to reveal the celebrity or character name. Once this is received. we can even connect this search and take it one step further by searching wikipedia and other sources for more related information about this character. All this information can be tagged and stored for processing.