Linux New on kodi. How to continue ???
Hello how are you ?
I am new to kodi and have some doubts.
I haven't had any problems with the installation, I've been using Linux for a long time, nor with the language and regional settings, but I don't quite understand how Kodi works, it doesn't give the impression of being a client-server application, but rather a stand-alone application.
to sum up.
I have my network, with an ubuntu server and kodi already installed. For example.
1.- How do I access kodi to play my local files (within the server) on my television.
a.- It is an LG with WebOs so it should be accessed via the web with the TV browser.
b.- I can access "configure" but not play, search, etc ...

2.- How do I do the same from my cell phone? The play stre application is "another server" not a client that connects to my server.

In summary, I have everything installed, how do I continue?
Greetings and thanks.
kodi feels like a client standalone because that is what it is intended to be

kodi *can* serve upnp but that is not its intended function and imo it is clunky and i dont use it

normal kodi usage is install it as a client, add file sources and play them within kodi - not play them from kodi on another device where kodi is not installed
Ahh, ok, then is not wath i looking for. 
99% of the advertisements say media server, that's why I was testing it, ... so I'll keep looking.
Thank you.
if you are looking for a media server look into jellyfin/emby/plex/mezzmo

i use jellyfin personally
I was looking there, it looks promising. I'll try it, thanks for the info.
(2023-06-23, 17:41)geminis Wrote: 99% of the advertisements say media server
Sure they don't say 'media centre'?
(2023-06-23, 17:00)geminis Wrote: Hello how are you ?
I am new to kodi and have some doubts.