Android Video playback stops working system-wide after Kodi goes to the background
Allow me to apologize in advance if this is a widely known problem. I've searched quite thoroughly and couldn't find any mention of it before asking.

I've been using Kodi for quite a few years now and obviously it is phenomenal, but I've always had a very specific problem with it when using it on an Android based platform.
I was originally using Kodi on a dedicated streamer (Xiaomi Mi-box) and whenever Kodi lost focus, which happened pretty often due the screen saver kicking in or merely me navigating to the home screen without exiting Kodi, I would no longer be able to initiate any sort of video playback.
Netflix and Youtube, for instance, would throw out errors when trying to play something and Kodi itself would also refuse to play anything. This would persist until I restarted my streamer, though on very rare occasions forcefully terminating Kodi through the apps menu would also work.

I've recently picked up a TV with Android TV, and the problem has increased dramatically on that particular platform. If I have Kodi lose focus and then try to open any other app (without even having to initiate any video playback) my TV essentially soft-locks by having the screen go black and since there's no way to restart it without resorting to violence I have no alternative than to power-cycle it to get things working again. This can be avoided by resetting my TV immediately after using Kodi, but is very easy to forget and also very incompatible with children.

Any and all advice on how to resolve this issue would be extremely welcome. Is this somehow a well known issue that I simply haven't been able to track down online?
To receive meaningful assistance you will need to provide a full debug log.

The instructions are here... Debug Log

If you are using the Basic Method, then ensure the following is applied...
1.Enable debugging in Settings>System Settings>Logging,
2.Restart Kodi