What Nvidia card to buy for hw-decoding?
I getting tired on my GIGABYTE MA78GM-S2H HDMI SOCKET AM2+ M-ATX with the ATI HD3200, so Im thinking of buying a NVIDIA gfx.

What is the cheapest card that works good with XBMC, Ubuntu and hardware decoding?

/Söder
I think this is a fair question... I did some research and did not find the answer so I'm also interested.

So... What NVidia chipset is the lowest-end that will do 1080p video well?
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Livin Wrote:I think this is a fair question... I did some research and did not find the answer so I'm also interested.

So... What NVidia chipset is the lowest-end that will do 1080p video well?

I found this in Sweden.
ASUS GEFORCE 8400GS 256MB DDR2 VGA/DVI SILENT
Costs about 40$

Wonder if thats a good start, of if its to good or to bad...

/Söder
soder Wrote:I found this in Sweden.
ASUS GEFORCE 8400GS 256MB DDR2 VGA/DVI SILENT
Costs about 40$

Wonder if thats a good start, of if its to good or to bad...

/Söder

If I were you i should invest in 9 series... there are at alright price right now in Sweden.

http://www.komplett.se/k/kl.aspx?mfr=&bn...6.K144543.

Personally I'm using good old 8600GS 512MB SilentFX, bought it with my computer when it came out.
9400gt 512mb
What does the 9000 serie have that the 8000 doesnt have? I need the gfx for nothing more then XBMC.

The 9000-cards cost half the price of my motherboard cost... =(

Are there any plans for hw-decoding with the ATI?

/Söder
motd2k Wrote:9400gt 512mb

Why? Doesn't this one have crappier chip than 8400gs?
i have an 8500gt 512mb passive cooling and it works perfectly Smile even the killa sample is LOWWWWWWWWWW cpu usage Smile
C-Quel Wrote:i have an 8500gt 512mb passive cooling and it works perfectly Smile even the killa sample is LOWWWWWWWWWW cpu usage Smile

I thought the killa sample couldn't run on hw-decoding?

/Söder
soder Wrote:I thought the killa sample couldn't run on hw-decoding?

/Söder