What do I need to for 1080p support?
Hey all. Been thinking about building a HTPC, need it to be as cheap as possible (I'm a struggling poor old student!). I need it to be able to support the following things:

* XBMC (duh)
* 1080p h.264 .mkv playback, no stuttering!
* IR receiver on case (preferably..)
* Toslink optical output to my 5.1 amp/decoder
* HDMI output to LCD
* Gigabit LAN
* As silent as possible
* A LCD 'status' screen on the case, again if possible or maybe through expansion

I already have all the hard drives and hope to house them in a NAS stoage elsewhere. Also, if possible, I'd like to run the OS off some kind of flash storage if that will lower power and noise.

Also, I'm debating whether to use Windows (Vista/7) or Linux (Ubuntu?)... I probably won't be using it for anything else but XBMC, so really all I care about is which boots into xbmc fastest!

Thanks in advance.
There are a few posts about this..

ION platform or a standard pc with newer Geforce cards running linux is the best solution for 1080 playback.
I'd go with a Zotac Ion Dual Core board, and run XBMC Live off a 1GB CF card.
Better of with atleast 4gb.. 8gb is even better (might need space for compiling updated drivers etc)
Thanks for the suggestion guys, also wondering what CPU / case / PSU / GFX / soundcard to get? Not if GFX or AUDIO if is onboard of course.
The zotac has a built in CPU.. Case is a personal thing, designwise.

PSU just get a quiet one Smile
blittan Wrote:The zotac has a built in CPU.. Case is a personal thing, designwise.

PSU just get a quiet one Smile
Oh, built in CPU! Never new there was such thing! Big Grin
Motherboard: ZOTAC Ion Atom Dual Core N330 +WiFi Motherboard ~£178.99
PSU: Onboard
GFX: Onboard
Sound: Onboard
LAN: Gigabit onboard

Now regarding the CF card, can it be any generic cheap make, or must it be one of quality? I'm guessing I'll also need a SATA to CF adapter and a MOLEX to SATAPOWER one too?

Also, how much RAM?