I want to build a media server - so many options?
Hi all,

im new to XBMC and have no experience with Linux; however, i do want to build a media server for my home, and potentially my AV customers.

I have deployed MShome sever before but i read so much promotion for a linux server install - which i have no experience of.

Im prepared to learn new skills so want to ensure i put my efforts in the right type of server platform...

...i'd be very grateful to read your opinion of what OS to use. MSHomeServer? or get into linux?

Many thanks
Darryl
what do you want? Server or renderer?
server = Synology NAS 409+ (upnp, netradio, smb,nfs,ftp,file,survelance,converter... read the specs)
Media server like a file server? Or a streaming server?
Or do you want a real client server architecture?
XBMCLive Dharma beta 2 running on an ASRock ION 330 HT
If you are planning on doing multiple setups I would go with ubuntu. Otherwise youll be spending a fair bit on windows licenses. Also much more customisable imo. Vdpau was a massive advantage in the past but I think theres been massive progress on hardware video acceleration on win and osx. go ubuntu not that difficult with the large amount of guides on the net.
get into linux! i come from windows to but on the server side linux is the right choice for the job... if you don't need any 'windows-only-specials'

and if you just looking for a storage solution to store your media on :

unraid!

i know some of the board users are using this one too ... and its great imho and userfriendly for a linux beginner!
Get to know linux well before you deploy it. I ran my own A/V install company from 2003 - 2007 and I know how testy those darn customers can be. Myself, a person with a decade of linux experience recently ejected linux from my a/v system and scaled back to desktop and other uses. I am a CEDIA CCPI1.