Protection Your Collection (RAID)
So I built my first HTPC
After collecting all my media to the new drive, I realized it would suck if I ever lost all 1.5 tb
So I'm thinking before I start tweaking XBMC I want to have some insurance, I'm thinking raid plus 2 more 1.5 TB hard drives
the MB I have Asrocks E350M1 has 1 PCI E slot and I'd like to add a RAID card
This is my first time wanting a true RAID system, maybe RAID 5
Can anyone recommend a good slim profile raid card, advice, or suggestions ?
Decent RAID cards are more expensive than you'd think. I find it more economical to just have a second drive for backup.
Asus AT5IONT-I in an A+ CUPID-3 + 2TB Seagate LP + 16GB SSD + Ubuntu + Samba + XBMC

AT5IONT-I Problems? Check out my Motherboard I/O Map for troubleshooting tips.
Really?
I was expecting under 200 but more than that?
so best way is just to have hard drive backing everythign up?
Erm, under 200 is about right, but that's much more than I'm willing to pay. There's also the single point of failure that I don't like. If your card goes in a RAID 5, you need to replace it before you can access any of your data.

As fun as a RAID array is, in my opinion it is not a good substitution for backing up.
Asus AT5IONT-I in an A+ CUPID-3 + 2TB Seagate LP + 16GB SSD + Ubuntu + Samba + XBMC

preferred raid by many of us is 'unRAID' ....
this would require you to buy a new rig just for that...
unless you have spare parts laying around...
unRAID software is free if u have a 3hdd array...
http://www.lime-technology.com/products/...ation-keys
I agree with numb7rs, after a number of failed discs, restoring a raid is not what I would call "fun".

This is somewhat dependent's on the operating system. I used to use raid consistently then I had a number of drives fail, and rebuilding the structure took quite some time. I switched to simply r syncing the drives nightly.

You don't need a card specifically you can also do software raid.