[RELEASE] Yahoo! Weather

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,436
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #1
weather forecast provided by Yahoo! Weather.
http://weather.yahoo.com/

the addon is available for Xbmc Eden, Frodo and nightly builds.
you can download it through the XBMC addon repo.

question, requests, issues?
please let me know.

FAQ:
- why do i get my temps in C when they should be in F (or the other way around)?
this is handled by xbmc and depends on this setting: System > Appearance > International > Region

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2013-07-20 12:32 by ronie.)
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,344
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #2
ronie, do you envision this as a potential replacement for Weather Underground as the default weather provider in case they pull the plug on us, or more as another option to help off-load some of the traffic currently going to WU?
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,436
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #3
it's most of all meant as a WU replacement for Eden users.
since they can't use WU anymore, the worldweatheronline addon was pretty much the only alternative.
but we're in the same boat with wwo as well, they've complained multiple times we're going way over our granted number of api calls.

Yahoo! might be a suitable replacement as the default addon, as they impose no limits whatsoever. you don't even need an api key to query their service.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
hunkyn Offline
Fan
Posts: 410
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Universe
Post: #4
works great I changed my addon to Yahoo! and it definitely works. Thanks ronie

Intel® Quad Core i5 Sandybridge @3.40GHz | ASRock Z775 Mobo 8GB DDR3 Ram | Logitech K400 Keyboard |
| Logitec Harmony 550 Remote| 46' Samsung LCD TV | Onkyo TX-S605 w/ Bose 5.1 Surround
find quote
Stevenlr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hi there i have just installed the Yahoo Weather add on but it just says 'Script Failed! : weather.yahoo'

Im running XBMC 12.0 RC3
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,344
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #6
(2013-07-20 19:51)Stevenlr Wrote:  Hi there i have just installed the Yahoo Weather add on but it just says 'Script Failed! : weather.yahoo'

Im running XBMC 12.0 RC3

Check your debug log for details on why the script failed for you.
find quote
Stevenlr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=38376
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,436
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #8
(2013-07-21 00:14)Stevenlr Wrote:  http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=38376

ah, yeah... that's indeed a bug in the addon.
but the bug will only appear if you haven't set up any weather locations.

so go to Settings > Weather > Yahoo! Weather - Settings
and select the location you want to retrieve weather forecasts for.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Stevenlr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2013-07-21 00:21)ronie Wrote:  
(2013-07-21 00:14)Stevenlr Wrote:  http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=38376

ah, yeah... that's indeed a bug in the addon.
but the bug will only appear if you haven't set up any weather locations.

so go to Settings > Weather > Yahoo! Weather - Settings
and select the location you want to retrieve weather forecasts for.

So it is!, Thanks, all sorted now Cool
find quote
Stildawn Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Could someone tell me if this new Yahoo weather service will work with Aeon MQ3 which is what I run?
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,344
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #11
(2013-07-30 23:21)Stildawn Wrote:  Could someone tell me if this new Yahoo weather service will work with Aeon MQ3 which is what I run?

Have you tried it? Easy enough to install this add-on and, if it doesn't work with your skin, easy enough to switch back to the Weather Underground add-on and uninstall the Yahoo one. Wink
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,114
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #12
(2013-07-30 23:21)Stildawn Wrote:  Could someone tell me if this new Yahoo weather service will work with Aeon MQ3 which is what I run?

Not specifically, but when I tried it with Confluence it worked without modification. That would seem to suggest that the Yahoo plugin uses the same skin properties as the Weather Underground add-on. Given both are written by the same person, that's not a surprise. Big Grin

Given that, the Yahoo plugin should work, but it is possible that some of the data might not be there if the Yahoo add-on doesn't provide them.
find quote
Stildawn Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I tried briefly last night before going to sleep once I noticed Weather Underground is disabled for Eden. But it wouldn't work (kept saying script failed). I'll give it another go after reading some stuff here, I ask cause MQ3 has a weather screen in the main menu that populates without selecting the menu item (if that makes sense) so thought that might be the issue.
find quote
OCDHD Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Using XBMC Eden Smile Sorry for 2 posts.
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,344
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #15
(2013-09-08 21:48)OCDHD Wrote:  Using XBMC Eden Smile Sorry for 2 posts.

Is there a question?
find quote
Post Reply