Microsoft Password
Hello All

I'm new to all this and I've just bought a Pi and loaded it with XBMC, when I try to access my computer to share folders it asks for a user name and password.

The computer was bought new loaded with windows 7 Ultimate about 3yrs ago and to my knowledge it never had a user name and password.

The user name is main, never needed a user name or password. I am the only user(Admin) and the computer boots straight to the desktop.

I have gone to users in the control panel and turned on require a password on boot, tried using that to access the shared folders but no joy.

Any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks John S Wales UK
Can you provide a little more information? Which XBMC/Kodi version (since you said XBMC, I'm going to assume it's XBMC for the Pi and not a recent build) are you using?

Connection method to network?
Please read the online manual (wiki) & FAQ (wiki) before posting.

Skins: Estuary | Xperience1080
Opinion: Never purchase HTC products
Morning Piers

On the summary info page it says Raspbmc is running XBMC 13.2 Git:20140901-867305b.

Connection to my network is by Ethernet cable to a BT 5 Router

We are on the same network 192.168.1.***

John
The route I take to the problem is

Music,Files, Add Music Browse, Windows Network (SMB), Workgroup, Main-Pc, then a pop up with Lock Settings on top, then asks for username and password.
THe shared folders on your Win7 PC are protected.
You need to go to the PC and use Windows Explorer:
- Select the shared folder
- Right-click and select properties
- Select the Sharing tab
Here you can modify if the folder is to be shared and what kind of permissions are used

- Then you also will have to select the Security tab
Here you will set the permissions on the local file system such that it will be possible to access the folder via the share

Note that the share and the file system are "connected" in series so both must allow access for it to be possible.