XBMC set top box, would you want this, let me know
Hello I am a long time member of the forums and even longer lurker of xbmc, i had to make a new username because for some reason i cant post on my old screenname, i think it is disabled for some reason (?)

Anyways, hello there.
I am a video game programmer/designer and recently bought one of those little set top boxes for watching netflix. It works as intended, but in my own personal opinion, I feel that if anyone I knew saw it, I might have to commit harakiri to avoid the great shame of them finding out how horrible its interface and programming is.
So I thought to myself, why not make my own.
so with some of the spare parts I had laying around in my office, I built one with xbmc on it.
now my question to you, the people, is this....

Would you want to buy a set top box that came with XBMC preinstalled?

naturally I want the xbmc developers involved and to be able to get their own cut so i also want to hear from them if they would allow me to do this.
it will not be very exspensive if this does happen.
I would like to make this the official xbmc STB is thats okay with the dev's.
As a venture of this sort would cost a lot of money to start up, I wanted to make sure there is a demand for this type of item.

I also have plans for making it do more than just playing movies, although I am choosing not to discuss them at this time, until I know if this is a go or not.
So you built a box that runs XBMC with Netflix integrated ?
We dont buy things, end of discussion.
flaminglizard Wrote:Would you want to buy a set top box that came with XBMC preinstalled?

No, this is the XBMC forum. That means anyone here is reasonably smart enough to install XBMC on a box.

Would other people want to buy it?

No.

Why?

Because XBMC is not about an end- it is a means. In most of our cases it is a means to play locally stored media.