Kodi 17 - TMDb not scraping Director / Writer / Studio Information

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
01Bear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Kodi 17.3
Windows 10 Home (64 BIT)

After a recent update, The Movie Database (TMDb) is not scraping Director or Writer information. Sometimes the Studio information is missing as well. I have reinstalled the add-on and everything seems to be working otherwise. I hope this issue can be resolved ASAP. Thank you for your help.
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #2
Here is the response taken from one of the many threads regarding this issue.

Karellen Wrote:The scraper is not being updated so it will remain v3.9.4

metadata.common.themoviedb.org will be updated to v2.15.0 which is located in the program directory. As this is not an Addon, you cannot download a zip file to manually install. It has to auto update via the repository.

So, just make sure your Kodi is running and connected to the internet. When the update reaches the servers in your part of the world, it will update.

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
01Bear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thank you for the fast response. I will do just that. Any idea on timeline?
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #4
It was released about 12 hours ago, so any time if you don't already have it.

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
01Bear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Awesome. Thank you again.
find quote
01Bear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Is there any way for me to tell if the update has gone through? As in, how do I know I have metadata.common.themoviedb.org v2.15.0?
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #7
Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\addons\metadata.common.themoviedb.org

Open the file addon.xml

4th line will tell you the version

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
KiddKilroy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I've been checking the Kodi\addons folder in the install location (Program Files for a Windows install). There's a folder that corresponds to the name of the plugin. I don't see version info, so I've been checking the modified date. Still no joy here - the date remains the installation date of my Kodi distro.

Edit: Better info from Karellen above. I'm still on 2.14.0.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-11 02:30 by KiddKilroy.)
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #9
If you are not confident doing that, then look at the File Date. It should be from yesterday/today.

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,692
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 387
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #10
It will update to your user folder, not the install location.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #11
I don't have that directory/file here...
C:\Users\Master\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons

or here
C:\Users\Master\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\userdata\addon_data

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,692
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 387
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #12
You will when it updates.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,479
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #13
Right. Thanks

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,692
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 387
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #14
Unless winders works different.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
01Bear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
My install folder says I'm still v2.14.

The C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\metadata.themoviedb.org\addon.xml says I'm v2.13.1.

So it seems that the update hasn't come through yet. Not sure why the two different versions but that's not the issue. I'll make sure to comment when the update rolls in.

Again, thank you everyone for your assistance.

Smile
find quote
Post Reply