Java error in android app?
Question 
I'm new to all of this, but I had the remote up and working beautifully for a few days, and then, without changing anything, I get this error message when trying to connect from my Samsung Galaxy Spica:

i/o exception (java.io.filenotfoundexception)
http://MY.IP:8080/xbmcCmds/xbmcHttp?comm...emInfo(120)

Any help would be much, much appreciated.
Weird. Do you have a more complete logfile? It's difficult to tell more with only that information.
Running XBMC on my HTPC, tablet, phone and pinball machine.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting. Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first.
Thanks a lot for the response. I'm learning as I go, but I think I've managed to get the relevant log info here: http://pastebin.com/cySw90up

Again, any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
Hmm that's weird. Can you try to paste the following URL into the browser of a PC connected to your LAN as well as into your Android browser?

Code:
http://192.168.1.38:8080/xbmcCmds/xbmcHttp?command=GetSystemInfo(120)

Does it display something?
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting. Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first.
On the PC I get: Google Chrome could not connect to 192.168.1.38:8080

And on the Android: Web page not available

I've uninstalled and reinstalled in both places, but still nothing.
That means that either your XBMC host changed its IP address (you on DHCP?) or XBMC isn't running. Make sure you have the right IP and XBMC is up, then also the remote should work again.
OK, now when I enter your code on the PC with XBMC running, I get this: invalid request

I’m running Vista with a standard setup and can’t even tell you if I’m on DHCP (which probably means I’m not) – just WIFI on a home router.