Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: ChromeBox Kodi E-Z Setup Script (LibreELEC/Linux+Kodi) [2017/02/21]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553
You can automatically get the proper one this way: xrandr | awk '{if ($2=="connected") print $1}'

To extend this, you can do something like this to turn on audio without user having to worry about which input he is using:
xrandr --output $(xrandr | awk '{if ($2=="connected") print $1}') --set "audio" "on"

Or better yet,
for i in $(xrandr | awk '{if ($2=="connected") print $1}'); do xrandr --output $i --set "audio" "on"; done

This will do it for all connected inputs...

(2014-08-02, 21:41)Matt Devo Wrote: [ -> ]to find the correct display output, one should run 'xrandr --props' from a ssh terminal. It shouldn't vary between systems though, since (I believe) it's referencing the port on the ChromeBox, not on the connected display. Can you run that command and confirm you are connected to HDMI0?
PHP Code:
xrandr --props
Screen 0
minimum 8 x 8current 1920 x 1080maximum 32767 x 32767
HDMI1 connected 1920x1080
+0+(normal left inverted right x axis y axis160mm x 90mm
        EDID
:
                
00ffffffffffff0011ee210001010101
                0014010380834a780aee91a3544c9926
                0f5054bdef80714f8100814081809500
                950fb300a940023a801871382d40582c
                4500a05a0000001e662150b051001b30
                40703600a05a0000001e000000fd0018
                4b1a5117000a202020202020000000fc
                0044454e4f4e2d4156414d500a2001ee
                02033cf1489004050320220f24350f7f
                073d1ec01507505f7e01570600677e00
                4d0200835f0000e305030170030c0026
                00b82d20d006014000372050011d0072
                51d01e206e285500a05a0000001e011d
                8018711c1620582c2500a05a0000009e
                8c0ad08a20e02d10103e9600a05a0000
                001800000000000000000000000000b0
        Broadcast RGB
Full
                supported
AutomaticFullLimited 16:235
        audio
auto
                supported
force-dvioffautoon
   1920x1080     60.00
*+  59.94    30.00    24.00    29.97    23.98
   1920x1080i    60.00 
+  59.94
   1600x1200     60.00
   1680x1050     59.88
   2880x480      60.00    59.94
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1440x900      74.98    59.90
   1280x960      60.00
   1360x768      60.02
   1280x800      59.91
   1152x864      75.00
   1280x720      60.00    59.94
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    60.00
   1440x480      60.00    59.94
   832x624       74.55
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32
   720x480       60.00    59.94
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00    59.94
   720x400       70.08
DP1 disconnected 
(normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
        
Broadcast RGBAutomatic
                supported
AutomaticFullLimited 16:235
        audio
auto
                supported
force-dvioffautoon
HDMI2 disconnected 
(normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
        
Broadcast RGBAutomatic
                supported
AutomaticFullLimited 16:235
        audio
auto
                supported
force-dvioffautoon
VIRTUAL1 disconnected 
(normal left inverted right x axis y axis

Clearly my display is on HDMI 1. BUT xbmc says my audio output is on HDMI 0. Settings -> System - > Audio

It turns out my previous post was a placebo. I had audio dropout on resume. Deleting original post.

I know what the problem is; when the audio is not working is shows as audio device: HDMI 1 NDA Intel (not working) and I do not have the option of whats going on below. It does not even give me the correct choice from the drop down list.

When I fully reboot, it shows and defaults to HDMI 0 Don Intel Denon HDMI ..... and I get audio.

I wish I knew how to hardcode the autostart.sh so that the HDMI 0 DON Intel HDMI Denon was ALWAYS chosen.

Sorry, my solution was a placebo.
(2014-08-02, 09:33)firefoxdude Wrote: [ -> ]I am running coreboot with SteamOS. It works fine however it does studder at times in the big picture mode menus. The recommendation to fix is to assign more video memory. I do have extra memory installed with steamos reporting 7.8GB of system memory. Is there anyway to change how much memory is assigned to the intel gpu? I know how to do this in a normal bios, however I have no idea how to do this with coreboot.

Thanks!

what kernel is SteamOS running? The Haswell platform works best with 3.14+, so if you're using something earlier than that, I'd recommend an update.

If you're already using an up-to-date kernel, PM me and I'll create a build with additional RAM allocated for the GPU for you to test
I have a BIG problem. I used the script and everything ran fine...XMBC was running and dual boot was working. However, after about a half an hour, XBMC froze and I had to hit the power button to get out. Now I get the following:

(SeaBIOS (version -20140706_180417-build120-m2)

Press ESC for boot menu.

Booting from Hard Disk...
early console in decompress_kernel
KASLR using RDRAND...

Decompressing Linux... Parsing ELF... Performing relocations... done.
Booting the kernel.


and...then it just hangs. I suspect the firmware is corrupt but everything I do (which I read on this post) to correct it doesn't work.
Is it toast?
(2014-08-03, 13:51)gwm1471 Wrote: [ -> ]I have a BIG problem. I used the script and everything ran fine...XMBC was running and dual boot was working. However, after about a half an hour, XBMC froze and I had to hit the power button to get out. Now I get the following:

(SeaBIOS (version -20140706_180417-build120-m2)

Press ESC for boot menu.

Booting from Hard Disk...
early console in decompress_kernel
KASLR using RDRAND...

Decompressing Linux... Parsing ELF... Performing relocations... done.
Booting the kernel.


and...then it just hangs. I suspect the firmware is corrupt but everything I do (which I read on this post) to correct it doesn't work.
Is it toast?

You're fine.

I have this issue anytime I try to reload an OS from flash drive.

I just start hitting <ESC> and then <2> from the moment I plug the power cord back into the Chromebox. The BIOS just doesn't give you time to actually read the message and respond by hitting <ESC> and <2> before it just starts trying to boot from the HDD.

Usually takes me about 8 tries. Till I got the hang of it and the timing down it was like 20-30.

The other thing that I had to learn was that the Flash Drives were sometimes not repartitioned right or marked as Active so they weren't being identified as a bootable device. Had to run 'em through Partition Magic and reload the OS Install to the Flash Drive.
(2014-08-03, 13:51)gwm1471 Wrote: [ -> ]I have a BIG problem. I used the script and everything ran fine...XMBC was running and dual boot was working. However, after about a half an hour, XBMC froze and I had to hit the power button to get out. Now I get the following:

(SeaBIOS (version -20140706_180417-build120-m2)
Press ESC for boot menu.

that's the SeaBIOS version string from the stock firmware - meaning my updated/fixed version has been reverted/replaced

Quote:Booting from Hard Disk...
early console in decompress_kernel
KASLR using RDRAND...

Decompressing Linux... Parsing ELF... Performing relocations... done.
Booting the kernel.

that's what you get when it tries to boot ChromeOS from the Legacy BIOS. It means that OpenELEC isn't on there anymore.

Quote:and...then it just hangs. I suspect the firmware is corrupt but everything I do (which I read on this post) to correct it doesn't work.
Is it toast?

Everything above tells me you did a factory reset using Google's recovery tool/media. If not, I'm not sure how it would otherwise revert to the stock SeaBIOS payload. It's not toast, just boot to ChromeOS (using [CTRL-D]) and reinstall OpenELEC using the script.

(2014-08-03, 15:38)smitbret Wrote: [ -> ]You're fine.

I have this issue anytime I try to reload an OS from flash drive.

I just start hitting <ESC> and then <2> from the moment I plug the power cord back into the Chromebox. The BIOS just doesn't give you time to actually read the message and respond by hitting <ESC> and <2> before it just starts trying to boot from the HDD.

Usually takes me about 8 tries. Till I got the hang of it and the timing down it was like 20-30.

The other thing that I had to learn was that the Flash Drives were sometimes not repartitioned right or marked as Active so they weren't being identified as a bootable device. Had to run 'em through Partition Magic and reload the OS Install to the Flash Drive.

incorrect, see my comments above.
Thank you both for your help. I was able to get everything back to factory and start all over again...now it is working perfectly. Oh..and thank you Matt for the script...works great!
If i add an external IR blaster will I be able to turn on the box if it's shutdown or suspended? I assume at the very least it should work if the box is suspended.
(2014-08-04, 18:28)jebise Wrote: [ -> ]If i add an external IR blaster will I be able to turn on the box if it's shutdown or suspended? I assume at the very least it should work if the box is suspended.

Suspend yes, shutdown no. Several confirmed working models are listed in the wiki
Hi Matt, I have been following this forum for a while but this is my first post. I got my hands on Chromebox and followed your instructions to the word. Everything went smooth and I had Chromebox running Openelec in less than 20 minutes. Thanks for post mate. It couldn't have been easier. Keep up the good work.
(2014-08-04, 20:00)harshdoc Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Matt, I have been following this forum for a while but this is my fist post. I got my hands on Chrombox and followed your instructions to the word. Everything went smooth and I had Chromebox booting Openelec. Took me less than 20 minutes. Thanks for post mate. It couldn't have been easier. Keep up the good work.

great to hear Big Grin
(2014-08-04, 18:29)Matt Devo Wrote: [ -> ]
(2014-08-04, 18:28)jebise Wrote: [ -> ]If i add an external IR blaster will I be able to turn on the box if it's shutdown or suspended? I assume at the very least it should work if the box is suspended.

Suspend yes, shutdown no. Several confirmed working models are listed in the wiki

thanks, anyone saw the remote on googles website. It looks very similar to the Boxee Box remote, wondering if anyone knows where to buy it?

http://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/bus...html#specs
(2014-08-05, 05:05)jebise Wrote: [ -> ]thanks, anyone saw the remote on googles website. It looks very similar to the Boxee Box remote, wondering if anyone knows where to buy it?

http://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/bus...html#specs

looks like it has minimal controls for video conferencing etc. doubt it's useful for XBMC purposes.
Hey Matt, thanks for the guide. I've gotten openelec installed on my hp chromebox alongside chromeos, but when I try to set boot options it says: write protect enabled, non-stock firmware installed or not running chromeos; cannot set boot options.
I know I'm running ChromeOS, and I haven't flashed any firmware, so it has to be that write protect is enabled, correct?
I cannot for the life of me find any documentation of which screw I need to remove on the HP Chromebox, I have opened it up and removed the only screw that I could find that made sense, the second screw on the only corner of the motherboard that has 2 screws. But that doesn't do it either.

What am I missing? I have a feeling it's something really simple....
(2014-08-05, 07:51)soundpwns909 Wrote: [ -> ]Hey Matt, thanks for the guide. I've gotten openelec installed on my hp chromebox alongside chromeos, but when I try to set boot options it says: write protect enabled, non-stock firmware installed or not running chromeos; cannot set boot options.
I know I'm running ChromeOS, and I haven't flashed any firmware, so it has to be that write protect is enabled, correct?
I cannot for the life of me find any documentation of which screw I need to remove on the HP Chromebox, I have opened it up and removed the only screw that I could find that made sense, the second screw on the only corner of the motherboard that has 2 screws. But that doesn't do it either.

What am I missing? I have a feeling it's something really simple....

that error is returned only under the conditions listed; if you're running ChromeOS, then it's because you have not removed the write protect screw. It should be in the same location on your HP box as on the Asus - see pic in the wiki.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553